Quickverse 2010 Update


The illustration by Eugene Peterson is a good example of why I hate sermon illustrations

I’m really stubborn about getting a computer program to work. Quickverse 2010 comes with an annotation ability, such as Bible Explorer used to have, and Wordsearch had (and apparently now has again).

Why I’m putting this much work into it , I really don’t know. Logos is my go-to Bible program. I just really remember having Quickverse back in the 90’s, and it was the industry standard Bible program. I’ve had the Platinum package since 2016 (I think) and… while it’s great, I can’t copy and paste without having to fiddle with it, and the annotation feature (as I’ve mentioned about 563 times) never worked.

I’ve tried everything at this point. Tried using Quickverse 2009 to make annotations, copy and paste over or import over my annotations. The annotations still don’t work, and didn’t in the 2009 edition either.

I can write in the user books, and those actually work BETTER than the Wordsearch user book functions.

The only way I think I can use is to openly edit the db3 annotation file, but here’s where it doesn’t work – you’d have to know the lookup. Each entry in the db3 database has an index key, called a lookup. I could enter it as john1.1, john1:1, Jn1.1, Jn1-1, etc. Without knowing how Findex intended for it to work, the annotations functions remain useless.

What it really is, honestly, is nostalgia. I think it’s just a comfortable feeling of poking around in a Bible program I knew well and could use (kind of silly that I actually had Logos back then, and never read the user manual, back when software came with printed user manuals).
Also, it’s got to be that I’ve got a HUGE library of books in Quickverse platinum, and I’m reluctant to just let that go. I’m just frustrated that the overall design was not bad, and could have been useful… but it’s not working.

So, frustrating as it is, I really need to stop wasting time trying to get the annotation function to work.

I only use Quickverse as it is for one or two things, and should just keep working with Logos.

If you find Quickverse 2010 Platinum, and you decide to make it your go-to, just know you’ll have to constantly edit your Bible quotes, and you’ll need to use your Bible user books to do commentary and study notes in.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???