Crash Status II


What won’t I reinstall?

That’s the first thought with my laptop;. I literally had, I don’t know, about 65 programs I loaded on. Of those, I used a dozen regularly.

I had a lot of programs because they had a nice feature, but… you know, if you almost never use it, you’re pretty much a slave to using it every now and then just because it’s sitting there. Productivity experts advise not getting into that situation.

What am I getting rid of permanently?

theWord – The messier version of E-Sword. I used it for the second year of my Bible College, until someone bought me Bible Explorer. I tried it again, and ended up downloading things for it I never used. I never opened the program except to install add-on modules. You know what? That’s silly. If I’m not using it, GET RID OF IT.

Accordance – very nice. I downloaded it to try, and featured it in my Bible Software reviews. I feel they took a step backwards from Accordance Demo to Accordance Lite, and so I’m not as thrilled with it now. I will say I stopped using it once I really learned how to use Logos, and so, I’m deleting it.

Microsoft Office XP – Don’t laugh. That’s how old mine is. But then again, you know, the COST of Office is prohibitive, and they’ve only got themselves to blame. Literally, it’s a $30 software suite for $160. I know I can rent it by subscription. I can also pay for Dropbox per month, Onedrive per month, Evernote per month, etc, etc. By the time you’re done paying $9.95 a month for everything, you’re spending 3 times your monthly income on monthly subscriptions to software and cloud storage! I’m just using LIbreoffice instead of Office.

E-Sword. I had a LOT of modules in E-sword. But again, I open it VERY rarely. So, I’m taking the plunge, and getting rid of it.

KJV Pure Word – this is a good, basic Bible program. For some people, this is exactly what you need. If I was going to use a lite Bible program like this, I’d stick with Bible Analyzer personally. I almost never open it, so it’s going.

Olive Tree. Yuck. I don’t know why so many people love this program so much. Really.

Programs I’m strongly thinking about getting rid of eventually: Wordsearch. No kidding. The inability to restore from backups has made it nearly useless in my opinion. I’ve added a LOT of free modules to it

Bottom line – if you almost never use it, ask yourself if you really need it?

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???