Crash Status


Well, some things to think about… I’m going to list some obvious things to do for you, that will help in knowing what to do in case of computer crash.

First, I’ll say that the so-called cloud backup from Wordsearch Bible Software is… not working. The most important parts of Wordsearch, the sermon illustrations, the listing of what sermon preached where, and the notecards (clippings) are lost. A few months ago I printed out on a lark my notecards as a pdf – I wasn’t sure why. Well, at least I’ve got those. But everything I was storing in Wordsearch is not working at all. Restoring from a disk backup creates an error and a crash. Restoring from the cloud sends me right back to the beginning. I have everything I got along the way, but most of my work in Wordsearch is gone. Only word processing documents and my verse lists. If it weren’t for those, I’d be deleting Wordsearch off my hard drive and just relying on Quickverse and Logos. My formerly high opinion of Wordsearch, which has been dropping steadily since January 2016, is about rock bottom now. The next Best Bible software review is going to feature me TRASHING this Bible software.

Recently I started using Evernote. Evernote was seamless. Reinstall, enter my name and password, and everything was there two minutes later. If you routinely save passwords, serial numbers for software, etc… one place to consider is saving it into EVernote.

Thunderbird Email. Um. All my emails going back to 2006 were gone. Wiped out. But I’m persistent, and I found that my computer now has a directory called old.windows. So, poking around, I found the storage locations for my emails, cut and copied the directories to My Documents for easy import. Next, downloaded the Import/Export addon for Thunderbird. I’ll save you two days of stress – it’s the VERY LAST import option in the massive drop down menu! Choose that (import profile) and find the directory you saved everything to in Myy Documents. It looks like all my emails are back, but probably about 30% of them appear to be sales notices from Home Depot. I should probably go back and delete 11 years of sales emails.

Logos. Installed Logos. Typed in my name and password. Wow. Go eat dinner. Everything is now back. Wish that Wordsearch worked this good. 18 months of resarch still there.

Opera web browser. Since I’d found my old Thunderbird emails, I looked for my bookmarks for Opera, copied them and pasted them into the Opera browser directory. Ta-da. Except I appear to have doubles, and I’m going to need to go through those as well. By the way, deleting a bookmark in Opera does not mean it’s gone! They have a trash folder. That has to be emptied. So if you accidentally delete Bible Gateway’s bookmark, no panic. Just go to your trash bin in Opera and restore it.

Since Windows 8.1 wants me to use Dropbox so badly, I went ahead and signed up. Smart move. I used Onedrive before this in Vista, and that was okay, but Dropbox is a LOT better. It’s up there with Evernote in my recommends.

Installing Thingamablog was quick and easy. Nothing to log in, it just found my data files immediately upon starting it. Nice! All my blog posts were there. I thought about the WordPress program (it’s not an ‘app’!), but the WordPress software requires you to be online. So, I… write um… offline. I’m not connected to the internet when I wrte these. Until WordPress fixes this in their software, I won’t be using it.

Computer crashes are emotionally draining. I know so many people who say, “I don’t even turn my computer on!” But I’m not a cell phone guy. Cell phones do not have the power of a computer, and I have looked at the internet on my phone ZERO times. Seriously. I cannot think of any one piece of research so pressing it can’t wait until I get home.

Bottom lines… Evernote and Dropbox are two must have programs. consider upgrading to Logos Bible software – yes, it’s hugely expensive. Yes, it’s going to take you months of saving. But it’s so worth it to know you won’t lose your research!

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???