Nearing the End of the Reading Cycle


This year I started a reading cycle of Old Testament once through the year, and new Testament twice.

If you followed along, you should be nearing the end of the first New Testament readings. It’s been a good plan.

A couple of years ago, I read the Bible three times through in one year. That was I felt the BEST plan, but wow… you’re just asking for everything on Earth to happen to you to make you very late to get home. There were days I’d sit down after dinner, do my Bible readings for the day, and soon it would be time for bed!

When I retire, I may well return to that plan. We’ll see.

The two best programs for reading plans were Logos and Quickverse. Both programs show you right in the text where your reading starts and ends for the day. Logos edges out as the best program, by giving you the ability to read through any book in your library as well. So, I’ve read through in the last 18 months several books on Baptist, preaching, eschatology, and now the Basic Theology book by Ryrie. I’d recommend setting up something like that as well. I basically set up the Ryrie plan because I didn’t want to read seventeen pages a day to finish the book in two months. I’ll be done with it by the end of July.

It’s important to make sure you have a time for devotional reading (not a daily bread book!), and time for Bible study as well.

