Did the Reformers…


On my Logos splash page or whatever you call that, they usually have a link in the Faithlife category guaranteed to drive me nuts. If they ask a question, the answer (I guarantee it) is always yes.

This time, they’re asking the same question they asked last time – “Did the reformers misinterpret Paul?”

Last time they asked something along the lines of, “Are we saved only by grace or works?” The answer, as you can imagine, was “Grace plus works.”

Here’s a newsflash – all of these theologians that the people at Faithlife keep interviewing need the Gospel. Seriously, and quickly. Because to date, from what I’ve heard of them, none of them are saved. I haven’t heard Darrell Bock speak on anything concerning salvation or whether the Bible is inerrant, but the others… they’re destined for the “Smoking” section of eternity, if things don’t change drastically and radically.

The concept behind the “Reformers” article reveals everything… Many of the people at Faithlife, just like at SermonAudio, are New Calvinist/Neo-Barthians who declare the inerrancy of the Bible – until you start pinning them down on what they mean by “Inerrancy” and “Bible”. Then you find out they’re just as theologically liberal as the people who state emphatically that Isaiah was written by as many as seven people, that the Penteteuch was written by four persons – none of them Moses, that Christ was a good man who died and somehow his resurrection was actually the vivid memory of him coming to life…

They’re all going to be standing on the Goat side, not the sheep side. You can’t believe these things and be saved.

So… let me translate the article to you. Paul wrote words, which on their face mean one thing. But (like a bully in third grade who says self righteously that he had his fingers crossed when he promised), the theologians tell us seriously, “We need to interpret these words in the framework of what it meant to a first century Jew.”

Okay. I’m a 21’st century Jew. Are YOU a first century Jew? Then… how can you state emphatically that the words I just read – which make a lot of sense to me – don’t mean what I think they say?

Here’s the issue. Test me if I’m wrong on this… but if Paul wanted to say something other than, “We have died to the Law”, he’d have said it. If Paul wanted to say something other than “The law with its ordinances has passed away…” he’d have said just that. Paul was extraordinarily blunt. He just said what he meant. Yet, now, unbelieving Gentile men who want to justify their unbelief and their sins are trying to tell me I misunderstand because I’m not a FIRST century Jew. Well, neither are you.

If you’re resorting to the “first century” argument, you’re calling God a liar, because your implication is that the words of God can no longer be understood by anyone with less than a doctorate.

I’ve got a degree in the Bible. And I tell you, that every person reading this blog can understand God’s word simply by opening the Bible… and reading it.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???