Thankfulness


Thankfulness is something that’s enjoined upon believers.

“By him therefore let us offer the sacrifice of praise to God continually, that is, the fruit of our lips giving thanks to his name.” (Hebrews 13:15, KJV)

Do you ever look around you, and feel thankful for what you’ve had? I routinely do. I’m sitting here with a laptop computer on my lap – something I wanted very much back in the 1990’s – and two cats with me, one on my lap, the other next to me.

I’m sitting on furniture I own, that I bought from a store, and not a thrift store or that someone gave me. That’s a big thing for me to say that.

I have a house I’m living in. It’s rented, but hey… I never thought I’d ever be able to move out of an apartment!

“Pray without ceasing. In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” (1 Thessalonians 5:17–18, KJV)

I own a used car. It’s pretty nice. I’m very thankful for that. I’ve never owned a new car, but I’m very thankful for the car I have!

I was able to be a temporary pastor for several months, and for that I’m thankful. I’m thankful that so many people make it a part of their lives to check into my blog and read my rantings!

“But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.” (1 Corinthians 15:57, KJV)

And that’s the biggest one. I try to thank God for every wonderful thing He’s done for me. There are things God has done for me I don’t even know about!

And most certainly, God has seen to forgive my sins, and to redeem me by the death of Jesus Christ.

We should all be thankful. The Bible requires it. But even if it didn’t… we still should.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???