Confessing Faults


Admissions. Before I became King James Only, I really didn’t like the NIV. I had three of them, because everyone was CONSTANTLY talking about the NIV. So I had a Schofield, a Large Print, and one other one… I can’t remember what it was.

But the translation I really liked best was… don’t laugh…

The RSV.

AAAAAAUUUUUUGGGHHHHHH!

Thank God I’m KJV only.

My wife bought me a KIng James study bible after we became KJV only, and it still is one of the best out there, I’ve recommended it a number of times. I now understand why there’s Bible binding services, to re-bind a Bible. I do wish I’d not marked in it as much. I used to try to write down the points in my pastor’s sermons, but he’d digress, and either run out of time, or not develop the third point enough, and I’d sit there waiting to write down the third point in the margins of my bible, and suddenly everyone’s standing…

So I have lots of two point outlines written in the margin of my Bible. I think the best thing there is to just liquid paper those.

I’ve got a lot of John MacArthur stuff, too, from the days when I first got born again, and thought that Evangelical and Fundamentalist were the same thing. And I thought that Calvinism must be right doctrine, because MacArthur sooner or later always talked about it.

Really, I should clear my bookshelves of a lot of that stuff. I’ve got some books given to me by a retired Methodist pastor which are so theologically liberal that just starting to read them makes me irritated.

Sometimes I miss the simplicity of the old days, when you just listened to Christian music, and read Christian books, and wore Christian t-shirts, and…

but Christianity is not a brand, like Levi. Christianity is the TRUTH. And I long ago grew up and understood that not everything we label as Christian is Christian.

There’s a lesson in there, for everyone.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???