Back


Sorry, was really busy for a few weeks there. I literally had no time to write.

In the latest news, I’m currently on the “Read the New Testament twice through” reading plan, and the “old Testament in one year”. I’m not sure what I liked better, this plan or the “3 times in one year” plan. The benefits of the “3 times in one year” plan was I felt SATURATED in the word of God.

This time it allows me to slowly examine what I’m reading. And since on this read through, I’m also doing the wrongly titled “Inductive” marking in Logos, it takes up to 45 minutes a day to do the plan – far longer than the 3 times in one year reading!

Inductive marking is good – I’ve been noticing a lot of connections, in that the repetitions of the Name of God in the Old Testament bear witness to the spiritual condition of the Israelites. The less God’s name is used, the farther Israel and Judah was from God.

In other articles, I’ve recommended using a clipping file to store important things you read. I’m also reading through Charles Ryrie’s Basic Theology every day, but I’m left unsure about the book. There’s so much good in the book, but at the same time, like most Evangelicals, he is waffling in a fast-moving stream of ecumenism and error!

Ryrie has a good grasp on many doctrines, and is a staunch defender of Dispensationalism. But he both embraces – and rejects Calvinism, he criticizes Roman Catholicism as being a heresy – but then seems to embrace it as a “Denomination”. He brings up some of the errors of Calvinism, but then turns and labels some Protestants as “Semi-Pelagian” (a common taunt of the 4 and 5 point Calvinist), erects Straw Man arguments between “Lutheranism” and Calvinism, and seems to embrace pre-destination. So Ryrie seems to be a closet Calvinist. I can’t really find any firm “Yes” or “No” statements on it. It may turn out by the time I’m done with the book, I may not be able to recommend it after all!

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???