Ryrie’s Basic Theology


This is one I’m currently reading through… before I got Logos, I had quoted someone who said that most people never read through all the books that come with it. My wife immediately pointed out that – knowing me – I would read them.

So, this is one I’m currently reading. It’s mostly written for the average Christian, and for the most part avoids words like sublapsarianism that you learn in Seminary. (by the way, my seminary takes a dim view of supralapsarianism and sublapsarianism simply because – when you get right down to it – it’s Calvinism!)

I discovered this morning (well, yesterday – I wrote this Sunday morning) that I am what’s call a Fidelist, which most of the readers of this blog are as well.

Fideists insist that the Scripture and the revelation it contains is self-authenticating, that is, autopistic. The infallibility of the Bible must be presupposed and can be because the Scripture says it is inspired and the Spirit accredits it.

Ryrie, Charles Caldwell. Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth. Chicago, IL: Moody Press, 1999.

This is the only part in the book so far that uses theological terms, and sure enough, it’s the one I happened to want to quote.

To believe that the Bible is pure, inspired, without error… is to be called a Fidelist, and most people approve.

Once you narrow that down to the manuscripts that God gave the churches, and not mysterious manuscripts written by Modalists who denied the Trinity and hidden in monastaries and musty shelves in the Vatican until the Unitarians found them…

Then they call you a cult member.

Seems to me it’s the other way around…

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???