Christians who don’t read their Bibles


If you’re a Christian, one of the things that – by nature – you do is read the Bible.

It truly scares me when I meet Christians who don’t read their Bible.

One of the more aggravating – but at the same time satisfying – debates on this blog was a man who wanted to argue with me that his Bible program was better than mine.

See, that’s kind of the way it’s supposed to be! You care so much about your Bible you are passionate about your choice of Bible program.

You should be excited about reading it, studying it. Enjoying the exploration, and reading it with the expectation God is going to personally make something alive for you today.

Because if you’re not…

…that’s scary. That truly puts you in the “I have to worry if you’re saved” category.

I’m very consistent. If you read the bible and cannot understand it… I immediately direct your attention to your salvation, because that’s a huge warning sign.

When you avoid Bible reading, I do the same thing. Because that’s a common warning sign also.

If you have been a Christian for 12 years but never read your Bible all the way through, my question is… are you sure your saved? Because you’re not showing the evidence of it.

Think about that. Pray about that.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???