Use of the word Pharisee


I constantly encounter the word Pharisee by Christians, mostly Evangelicals. Recently, I encountered a hyper-grace believer on this blog, who was quick to try to subtly worm her way in by asking questions, subtly finding a way to slam Fundamentalists, and seized on that as a chance to argue with me that I was a Pharisee, full of works, because I wrote about… repentance and prayer.

Okay, Let me translate the word Pharisee for my Gentile readers, and let’s see if you understand how that word sits in my ears.

“Fundamentalist narrow minded Pharisee!”

In my ears means, “You Bible believing Jew!”

Jew.

You know, It’s been many years since I was called “Jew Boy” in school. Anti-Semitism still reigns in today’s society. Obama’s America in the last years of the reign of his regime had institutionalized Jew Hating. Schools of higher education were encouraged to be racist – against Jews. They used phrases to disguise it – “Divestiture”, “Censure”, “Israel”.

What it amounted to is that America has become increasingly intolerant, in the name of tolerance.

It’s bad enough I have to endure that from the unsaved, but to have my Christian brothers and sisters routinely engage in antisemitism is too much.

When you call someone Pharisee, understand this – you are being a racist. You are being a bigot. You are being an anti-Semite. You’re being a Jew Hater.

in 2008, one night late at night, while reading a book by John MacArthur and searching for the truth, I broke under the weight of my guilt over sin, and I cried out to God to save me from Hell. I called upon Jesus Christ in desperate need, and He answered. At that moment, my heritage ceased to be of importance. yet it’s thrown in my face over and over again.

We as Christians should not be racist. You should not say hurtful words. Don’t you think, if you call someone a Pharisee, you might have to explain that to Jesus Christ? When God says Israel is the apple of His eye, don’t you think you might want to be cautious about that?

When God says those who bless the seed of Abraham shall be blessed and those who curse Abraham’s seed will be cursed… you might want to be more careful?

You Gentiles reading this, understand this – you are a wild olive branch, grafted onto the vine of Israel. You’re joined into the vine along with me. We’re together. You have to live in the same place I do – forever, and ever, and ever.

Christians as a whole have examined their racism, realized its a sin, and repented of it. Except where the Jew is concerned. You look at someone who embraces the Bible as God’s instructions, and you snarl, “Jew!”

You say “Pharisee”, but I hear “Jew.” And it’s right back to 6th grade, and people shouting Jew Boy, and doing the Sieg Heil salute in my face, and shouting “Heil Hitler” as they spit on me.

I’ve gotten over that – certainly 6th Grade was a long time ago. But that feeling comes back when I hear Christians say, “Pharisee”.

To explain it, the Sadducee party disappeared in AD 70 with the destruction of the Temple. The only group to survive was the Pharisees. Jews today are the heirs of the Pharisees, and certainly it took a long time to break free of the mindset of the Chassidic teachings I’d learned, the Orthodox lifestyle. Seriously, it took a long time for me to be able to cut my fingernails without water nearby (if you don’t understand that, it’ll take too long to explain).

If you want to call me Fundamentalist, that’s fine. If you want to call me a literalist, someone who believes the Bible literally, that’s great! If you think I’m self-righteous, say that!

But anti-Semitism should NEVER be in the mouths of Christians. NEVER. If you harbor any anti-Semitic thoughts, pray about them. It’s like all sins we struggle with.

Don’t ever call anyone a Pharisee ever again.

