Being a Pastor 5 and Being a Christian – Bible Study 2


Yesterday I gave a really-way-too-brief explanation on how to combine your devotional reading and Bible Study.

Let’s detail how to do this. Some people simply want to read their Bible without distraction. If that’s your case, then you may want to try reading your Bible readings FIRST, THEN doing your study.

I can keep track of the flow easily as I study. At first, I tried the “read then study”, but I guess over the years I’ve been too interested in the details, and started studying as I read. If you’re this kind of person, great! Start your reading and study at the same time.

The way I’ve got it in yesterday’s article is a whopper. It’ll take you a while every day to study like that. If you want to try… you’re really going to progress in your knowledge of the Bible and your walk as a Christian. If on the other hand you just don’t have the time to committ like that, then… get Cooktimer, and set it for 15 minutes. Cooktimer is a small program that quite simply just counts down.

“What things should I add to my study notefile?”

Let me remind everyone that different Bible programs use different names for notefiles. There’s user books in Quickverse and Wordsearch. There’s commentary in Theword. There’s Study Notes in E-Sword (I presume most of you are using E-Sword as your main program). Scripturepad in Bible Analyzer. It doesn’t matter what it’s called, you just need some way to make your notes, commentary, etc on your study.

So, what should you add to your notes? Overall impressions. A summary of what the chapter is about. What’s its theme? I gave a suggestion of things you should be taking notes of yesterday.

For example, today in my readings…

“And God said unto Jacob, Arise, go up to Beth-el, and dwell there: and make there an altar unto God, that appeared unto thee when thou fleddest from the face of Esau thy brother.” (Genesis 35:1, KJV)

I noted that the second use of “God” in that verse is El in Hebrew.

“But Deborah Rebekah’s nurse died, and she was buried beneath Beth-el under an oak: and the name of it was called Allon-bachuth.” (Genesis 35:8, KJV)

I noted that Allon-Bachuth means “great tree of weeping”.

Got a place name? Look it up. Is there a measurement or weight? write down how much it is.

For highlighting your text in Bible programs, it’s important to highlight something so that important words stand out at a glance. Quick, what was created on what day of creation? Highlighting can help those words to stand out. In the Sermon on the mount, I used two different highlight colors to differentiate the “Blassed are you when…” and the reward “for yours is the…”. This way at a glance, I’m seeing the distinctions in the Bible.

I am so craving potato chips right now it’s not funny.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???