Being a Christian – The Bible part 3


One crucial aspect of the Bible we dealt with yesterday. The Bible is inerrant. Not just n the original manuscripts, but… inerrant.

“When you hear the silly talk that the Bible “contains” the word of God and is not the word of God, you hear a fool’s talk. I don’t care if he is a Doctor of Divinity, a President of a University covered with medals from universities of Europe and the United States, it is fool’s talk.”

B. H. Carroll, quoted by James T. Draper Jr and Kenneth Keathley, Biblical Authority: The Critical Issue for the Body of Christ (Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman Publishers, 2001), 63.

Now, we need to look at the concept of Mechanical dictation.

It does not mean mechanical dictation—that is, that God dictated the material to the writers as a businessman would to his secretary. I do not know of any modern evangelical scholar who believes in mechanical dictation.

James T. Draper Jr and Kenneth Keathley, Biblical Authority: The Critical Issue for the Body of Christ (Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman Publishers, 2001), 90.

Yet the Bible specifically says that exact thing!

“For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled.” (Matthew 5:18, KJV)

How can not a single jot or tittle be preserved… if they’re not inerrant and inspired? Jesus Christ clearly teaches here the concept that every letter – indeed, the very parts of the letters – are inspired and preserved!

This is a concept I was well aware of in Judaism. I was keenly aware that a Sopher, a scribe, had to check letter by letter to ensure that the Torah Scroll was correct. THey had rules on how the name of God was to be written, and very specific rules about the center lines of every column had to line up, and that they had written pnemonic phrases to help them immediately spot if there was an error in the Scroll. One error, one deviation from the exact words and letters, one mistake at all – and the scroll was carefully taken… and buried.

No kidding. It couldn’t be used.

Why? Because central to the thought in Judaism is that God determined not just every word in the Bible, but every letter.

Here is one MAJOR area in which Fundamentalists differ from Evangelicals. By Keathley’s own admission, he does not know a single modern Evangelical Scholar who believes in Mechanical Inspiration.

So, what should we say to every Evangelical Scholar who denies this?

Two words.

“You’re fired.”

“But I am the LORD thy God, That divided the sea, whose waves roared: The LORD of hosts is his name. And I have put my words in thy mouth, And I have covered thee in the shadow of mine hand, That I may plant the heavens, and lay the foundations of the earth, And say unto Zion, Thou art my people.” (Isaiah 51:15–16, KJV)

“As for me, this is my covenant with them, saith the LORD; My spirit that is upon thee, And my words which I have put in thy mouth, Shall not depart out of thy mouth, Nor out of the mouth of thy seed, Nor out of the mouth of thy seed’s seed, saith the LORD, From henceforth and for ever.” (Isaiah 59:21, KJV)

“Thus saith the LORD; Stand in the court of the LORD’s house, and speak unto all the cities of Judah, which come to worship in the LORD’s house, all the words that I command thee to speak unto them; diminish not a word: If so be they will hearken, and turn every man from his evil way, that I may repent me of the evil, which I purpose to do unto them because of the evil of their doings. And thou shalt say unto them, Thus saith the LORD; If ye will not hearken to me, to walk in my law, which I have set before you, To hearken to the words of my servants the prophets, whom I sent unto you, both rising up early, and sending them, but ye have not hearkened; Then will I make this house like Shiloh, and will make this city a curse to all the nations of the earth.” (Jeremiah 26:2–6, KJV)

Judgment fell upon Israel if they so much as neglected a single word of the Bible.

“Then took Jeremiah another roll, and gave it to Baruch the scribe, the son of Neriah; who wrote therein from the mouth of Jeremiah all the words of the book which Jehoiakim king of Judah had burned in the fire: and there were added besides unto them many like words.” (Jeremiah 36:32, KJV)

All the words. The Bible says that The Lord put His words into Jeremiah, that Jeremiah was not to omit a single word, and that after the King burned the scroll, the Lord caused Jeremiah to re-write the scroll, adding in the judgments of God against the King.

Sounds like Mechanical Inspiration to me.

If a pastor does not believe in Mechanical Inspiration, if a Bible Scholar does not believe in it, they are calling God a liar. I would not want to be standing next to them at the Judgment!

Study this, and determine for yourself. I’m just giving a few quotes, and we could be here all week on this one doctrine alone!

ps126-7

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???