Being a Christian – The Bible Part 1


It’s been said that Christianity can be summed up in one anagram.

B – Bibllical Authority only

A- autonomy of the local church. There is no denomination who can seize control of a local church or “excommunicate” someone if they run afoul of God’s word. Only the Local church has that authority, to dismiss the pastor. There is no authority that can order the local congregation, except Jesus Christ. The pastor is only the steward of that church for the Lord. Denominationalism is unBiblical.

P – Priesthood of the believer

T – Two ordinances only, Believer’s Baptism and the Lord’s Supper

I – Individual Soul Liberty. You have the right to be 100% wrong, and nobody, NOBODY has the right to force you to be right. We seek to persuade men, not coerce men (2 Cor. 5:11)

S – Saved membership of the local church.

T – Three offices Evangelist (church planter), Deacon, Pastor

S – Separation of church and State. The state cannot command the local church, and we recognize it is God who rules.

I bring this up so we can see our course of study for a week or so. Today we talk about the Bible. I have written MANY articles on the Bible, how to study it, and we even took 50 days to go through Hebrews (spread out over about three months). We’ll do that again this year, since there were no negative comments about it, except from one commenter whose only comment was “Christian holidays are racist.”

I don’t think they were commenting on my articles at all, but looking to grind an axe.

The Bible. It’s been said that there’s no one verse that says that the Bible is all you need. Hm.

“The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul: The testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple. The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart: The commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes. The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring for ever: The judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: Sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. Moreover by them is thy servant warned: And in keeping of them there is great reward.” (Psalm 19:7–11, KJV)

“He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day.” (John 12:48, KJV)

“If any man speak, let him speak as the oracles of God; if any man minister, let him do it as of the ability which God giveth: that God in all things may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom be praise and dominion for ever and ever. Amen.” (1 Peter 4:11, KJV)

“And that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.” (2 Timothy 3:15, KJV)

“Ye shall not add unto the word which I command you, neither shall ye diminish ought from it, that ye may keep the commandments of the LORD your God which I command you.” (Deuteronomy 4:2, KJV)

“What thing soever I command you, observe to do it: thou shalt not add thereto, nor diminish from it.” (Deuteronomy 12:32, KJV)

“For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book:” (Revelation 22:18, KJV)

“In the day when God shall judge the secrets of men by Jesus Christ according to my gospel.” (Romans 2:16, KJV)

“LAMED. For ever, O LORD, Thy word is settled in heaven. Thy faithfulness is unto all generations: Thou hast established the earth, and it abideth. They continue this day according to thine ordinances: For all are thy servants. Unless thy law had been my delights, I should then have perished in mine affliction. I will never forget thy precepts: For with them thou hast quickened me. I am thine, save me; For I have sought thy precepts. The wicked have waited for me to destroy me: But I will consider thy testimonies. I have seen an end of all perfection: But thy commandment is exceeding broad.” (Psalm 119:89–96, KJV)

Smoking gun verse…

“MEM. O how love I thy law! It is my meditation all the day. Thou through thy commandments hast made me wiser than mine enemies: For they are ever with me. I have more understanding than all my teachers: For thy testimonies are my meditation. I understand more than the ancients, Because I keep thy precepts.” (Psalm 119:97–100, KJV)

Because of this, Baptists have used this catchphrase to explain our relationship to the Bible:

“The Bible is the sole rule for faith and practice.”

What that means is this… the Bible is all you need to instruct you in matters of religion/faith, and is all you need to teach you how you should live.

Some atheists tried using a logcal conundrum to trip up Christians, by insisting, “no text can be used in support of itself.” The Bible does, but the Bible also has the support of history, archaeology. THe Jews exist, so we know there is a Bible. It’s like I explain to people, “The people you read about in the Bible are my relatives.”

There’s people groups that existed that “Rational” scientists said never existed – yetb archaeology suddenly found those people groups. Hittites, anyone?

Rational historians said KIng David never existed – yet archaeology has found references to “The House of David”. Hm!

And… let’s not forget an empty tomb. Kind of hard to ignore that one.

The Bible is all you need. Tradition is to be thrown away. The “Magisterium” of Roman Catholic church “Doctors” is to be dismissed out of hand. The teachings of the WAtchtower Society thrown out with yesterday’s coffee grounds and used cat litter.

All you need is the Bible.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

11 thoughts on “Being a Christian – The Bible Part 1”

  1. I read someone who objected to the phrase sola scriptura b/c he said that we do need tradition as well. The Holy Spirit has worked in the minds of Christians of past ages just like he works in our minds today. The author clearly agreed that the Bible is the supreme rule of faith, but he also argued that we should not rule out the long line of godly men and women who taught in the past, especially in the creeds and confessional statements of the past. What are your thoughts on this?

    Like

    1. Probably about the same as yours… if we required anything else, God would have put it in the Bible. To deny Sola Scriptura is to call God a liar, essentially. Several denominations profess things such as “We believe in Bible, tradition, reason” – which boils down to “We lied about the first one – we believe the Bible when it fits our creeds.”

      Like

      1. I don’t agree tho. I think every church needs the Christian tradition and reason too. Not as the supreme authority but as an indispensable aid to understanding our supreme authority. You certainly use plenty of reason on this blog. no?

        Like

      2. My doctrine is derived from Scripture – pure and simple. Part of our 2 year Bible doctrine class in seminary was the challenge to complete a statement of faith, completely from Scripture. None of my doctrines come from any of my reasoning. I tried that years ago, went afoul, got saved, and then relied completely upon the Bible.
        I see nothing in my Bible about Christian tradition, nor do I see any justification in Scripture for relying on my feelings. Rather, “Ye shall know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” As Jeff Moore pointed out in his quote from 1 Timothy, all we need is the Bible.
        To follow anything else requires you rename whatever you are, because Christians follow the Bible, and the Bible alone.

        Like

      3. Is reason part of your authority? Or are you sola Scriptura? If you’re not Sola Scriptura, you need to call yourself something else – because Christians are sola Scriptura.
        What I am discussing is your authority. Methodists claim “tradition, Scripture, Reason” – meaning when Scripture appears to be in error in their eyes, they use their faulty human thinking. Is this what you’re advocating? I find it hard to believe from everything you’ve written this is what you’re saying.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. When we talk about the sources of theology, then clearly we all use some combination of tradition, reason, and Scripture to build our systems. We advocate the position of sola Sriptura which insists that the Bible is the supreme authority in all these matters.

        An obvious example is the KJV. There is no place in Scripture which commands us to regard only the KJV as the word of God. The source of this belief is clearly in tradition and reason, not Scripture. Or am I missing the point here? It seems to me that some of our beliefs are the result of clear, direct Scripture teaching, but many other beliefs are the result of inferences made from various Scriptures. I think it is the West. Confession which says “The whole counsel of God concerning all things necessary for His own glory, man’s salvation, faith and life, is either expressly set down in Scripture, or by good and necessary consequence may be deduced from Scripture…”

        Like

      5. I strongly disagree. I reject the Westminster confession. And the issue is not whether there is a verse in Scripture saying the King James Bible is the word of God (although Psalms 12:6-7 strongly implies it) but rather that modern transaltions are translated from eclectic manuscripts made from a forgery and from a Gnostic Greek text that denies the deity of Christ every chance it gets.
        I stand by my statement – Christians are Sola Scriptura. Anyone claiming that tradition and reason are on the same plane as Scripture cannot be called Christians.

        Like

  2. Forgot to copy what I AMEN so enthusiastically!

    “All you need is the Bible.”

    👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

    Like

  3. 15 And that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. 16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: 17 That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

    Since God thinks the Bible is every thing we need “That the man of God may be perfect”, the Bible is every thing we need.

    Like

Comments are closed.