Logos 7 My Recommendations


For those of you who can afford it… This is the list of how to upgrade and save money, unless you have a $1,600 budged to spend on Computer software this year)

  1. Logos Free Engine (should be available in February). Just add the free books Logos offers, and buy the Kng James for $9.99
  2. Logos 7 Standard Starter (better materials than Baptist)
  3. Logo7 Standard Bronze (Better materials than Baptist)
  4. Logos 7 Baptist Silver (switch to Baptist at this point, to avoid the overwhelming Roman Catholic materials they try to push on you)
  5. Logos Baptist Gold (if you can afford to go that high – I doubt I will, until I get a pastorate with a book allowance).

The most affordable way to get it is that subscription service, but I don’t like the thought of paying whatever a month for… forever. And when you cancel it you own… nothing.

The people at Logos are shrewd businessmen, to the point that my wife argues fairly convincingly they are not a Christian company. My experience is that – I’m not seeing a whole lot of “Christian” behaviour out of most “Christian” companies. No, sir. They either lie to you (Christian Book Distributors), rip you off, or… try to soak you for EVERY LAST PENNY YOU’LL EVER MAKE.

Kind of like all those ministries that want you to volunteer so they save thousands on payroll.

Well, the two best Bible software packages are both by companies that are not very Christian at all – Logos and Accordance. As I’ve said before, I can’t rate PC Bible Study because they really don’t have a demo, and I can’t rate Bibleworks because they only sell you one package, and it comes without really any books.

I doubt I’ll be able to afford the Logos Gold. However, the one good idea Logos has – and they’re the only company who does it – is the concept of dynamic pricing. Once you own something, you don’t have to pay for it again when you upgrade. So, the Logos Silver package discounts the items that are already in the Bronze and Starter package. So if you buy them in the order I give you, you’ll get the most effective library (for some reason, they think that Baptists don’t need certain books and items!!).

One additional thing I should add is I bought Logos Baptist Starter 6 two days before Logos 7 came out. So, I have access to books and materials in the Logos 6 that aren’t in 7.

Unless Logos 8 comes out before I can afford the Silver package, I don’t think I’m upgrading again. By then I will have spent over a thousand dollars on Bible software, and there’s got to be a limit.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???