Quick Review of Logos 7


My first thought was, “Didn’t take as long to install as did Logos 6.”

The first point about the Logos engine is they went the wrong way with it. It’s a little slower now. At least, it seems to be. I used to have 5 commentaries and handbooks open, two guides, all the right sidebar windows, and about six Bibles. And Logos wasn’t that slow.

I don’t know why I do that with the Bibles, since I only use the King James! But I guess my rationale is, “I have them… I might as well open them!”

Now I’ve got seventeen Bibles. Really. That’s a lot. And seven commentaries and handbooks open, and 4 guides. Logos is running a little slower.

This I suppose won’t be a problem in three years, because it seems to me I get a new laptop every three years or so. So, when I’m graduating with my Doctorate, I’ll have a computer that runs Logos 7 with no problem.

The rationale you’re supposed to use when choosing your Logos base package is this:

  1. How much money do I have?
  2. Which package has the books (monographs) that will be the most useful for me?

Since Logos seems to be staffed by people who aren’t Biblical Baptists, but rather, Calvinists, the Baptist packages are stocked with monographs that make little or no sense to a Baptist. They chose for Logos 6 the monographs (mostly) written by obscure Calvinist Baptists, instead of books by people like Tim LaHeye, Harry Ironside, David Cloud, James Melton, etc.

I’ve actually made user books of people like Timothy Morton, James Melton, Dean John Burgon, and David Cloud. So I’ve gotten more use this way.

So, when I upgraded to Logos 7, there wasn’t a simple $39.99 engine upgrade. And trust me, the comment sections of the Logos website are full of angry users, many of whom are complaining, “I’ve been using Logos since 1.6, and this time I have to say, enough. It’s too expensive.”

So, yesterday, I upgraded to the Logos Standard Starter package. To get ALL the bells and whistles of Logos, you need the Logos Bronze, which in many ways is a lot better than how it was before. Now you can buy Feature sets. There’s two… Starter, and Full. I think there should be three, a midway point myself. “Logos Pastoral Feature set” would be a nice midway, so now you’d have sermon writer capability.

Logos has dynamic pricing, so, when you buy one package, it drops the prices of all other packages. I can upgrade now to the full feature set for and Logos Bronze for $328.32.

I’ll probably upgrade to the full feature set, and then just buy what books and add ons I need from there. I think between August and now, I’ve spent maybe $400 on this program? And that’s $400 I really don’t have to throw around on it.

Is Logos 7 worth it? Oh, yeah. Yesterday, the first thing I did was to link my BDB Hebrew Lexicon to the King James (very easy to do) and when I single click on a word, the BDB switches to its definition. Very cool. If I pick up a Greek Lexicon, I can do the same thing.

Double clicking on a word opens the dictionary definition. I can’t talk Logos into switching to the Websters 1828. Don’t they know that among IFB Pastors, it’s a must have? It’s almost held by some as high as a 67th book of the Bible!

Okay, I’m kidding about that, but when I was attending a Ruckmanite church in town a few years ago, the Pastor would always refer to the Webster’s 1828 definitions in a solemn tone. Logos prefers to give you the latest version of the Miriam-Webster, which is just about wiped clean of its Biblical heritage.

For those readers who are Evangelical, the Websters 1828 literally was a Bible Dictionary that Noah Webster just threw up his hands and included EVERY word, to make it a dictionary of the English Language. Either that, or he was saved, and felt that it was stupid to offer a dictionary divorced of its Biblical meanings. Literally, the definitions of every word in it have a Bible verse to demonstrate its meaning.

Be warned – once you get used to using Logos, it’s hard to go back to other Bible programs. The immense power of it is amazing. I STILL haven’t tapped into most of its power. I’m a standard user of Logos, I guess. I’m just now using the command box and learning how to type in commands. “close all windows” is great. It… closes all the windows. “Open KJV” is great too. Can you guess what it does???

The drawback to a program like Logos is, now that I have all these tools, and Logos will tell me which books in my library have anything on the passage I study, and if I upgrade to full feature (which will give me the ability to search for every time Jesus speaks to the apostle John)… you now run the risk of spending far MORE time working on Bible study, not less! You know, when all you have is a King James and a Strong’s, you can do a few things in 20 minutes, and then you close them and put them away.

When you have Brown-Driver-Briggs, Halley’s handbook, Torrey’s Topical, Strongs, Mirriam-WEbisters, seventeen Bibles, seven commentaries (I’ll say this – Elwell’s Evangelical Commentary is the worst piece of trash I’ve ever seen in a Biblical commentary. If I’d bought it hardcover, I’d be returning it), and over 190 monographs on the Rapture, Concise Theology, Baptism, Eschatology, Baptist distinctives, Inerrancy of the Bible, etc…

a Pastor can stay glued to his laptop three hours a day researching! Yes, sermon writing will be faster. You’ll have more information you can feed your congregation. But there’s so much more information that it’s going to take longer to sort through it.

What Logos needs to do is make better upgrades for longtime users. Feature set upgrades that are less than $50 with the features of the newest Logos package, and the ability to build your own Logos package (custom 1, 2, 3 etc…) with custom discounted prices based upon the items in it purchased as a package. I mean, a Ruckmanite would enjoy some of the items they’re offering on Baptist Silver now, but they’d have ZERO use for the HALOT encyclopedia, or the “Little Kittel”!

And personally, I’ve written to almost every Bible software manufacturer about Kittel. As a Jewish man, I am offended that they do not offer you the chance to buy the 2nd Edition, before Kittel joined the Nazi Party, and began to incorporate its ideology into the later editions of Kittel! If Kittel was saved, that’s probably already been addressed. If he wasn’t saved…

…it’s being addressed there too.

Anyway, Logos 6 was astoundingly powerful, and fast. 7 is even MORE powerful, but like armor on German tanks, the more you add, the slower the thing goes!

Wow, that line almost got me on another digression! It’s terrible to be a Military History buff!

I should have all the features of Logos 7 figured out by August!

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

2 thoughts on “Quick Review of Logos 7”

Comments are closed.