Inerrancy


This is from my journal, in Quickverse. I keep meaning to write in my journal, and I’m hoping that I can keep working on one daily. I’t’s one more thing to do every day (EEEK!), but this way, I don’t come up with ministry plans and prayer plans, and then forget them because I’m so busy.

Once I wrote this this morning, I realized, “YEah, that’s a blog post.” So, here it is.

* * * * * * * * * *

Got more MacArthur videos yesterday, on inerrancy. I still don’t understand how Christianity can be two-faced about inerrancy!!! Literally, they’re speaking out of both sides of their mouth. They say they believe in the Bible, yet they also, without hesitation say, “well, that verse isn’t in the original manuscripts.”

How do you know? Do you have them in the closet?

“Well, I mean the oldest and best.”

Same question.

“We’ve got Codex Sinaiticus and Vaticanus, and…”

Yeah, uh, those aren’t the oldest. Certainly not the best.

I’ve asked it before, What is better, a faithful copy of a faithful copy of the original, or a flawed and edited original?

This is rapidly becoming an issue dividing Christianity, and the KIng James Only crowd is not the one who moved. We have followed the Bible from the beginning to now, and you all… diverged in 1881 to heretical manuscripts.

What good does it do to protest a translation that removes all references to deity of Christ, and then praise the manuscripts that the translation faithfully rendered?

MacArthur pledges to combat disbelieving scholarship, then turns around and praises the textual critics who write voluminous editions against the Textus Receptus.

Hypocrisy is hypocrisy. Look, I’m not writing these things out of poverty – I have VOLUMINOUS libraries now, thanks to Quickverse Platinum 2010, Wordsearch 11, and Logos 6 Baptist Starter. I must have a digital library of over a thousand books or more. I have 14 bibles in Logos alone, a bunch more in Wordsearch, and I guess about 24 bibles in Quickverse.

I would LOVE to be like you guys, to pick and choose. “I really love the rendering of the ESV here…”

but my eyes are open. Where the King James says, “Let every man…” the other bibles say “let every one”. No big deal? Have you, by any chance, noticed the deliberate de-masculinization of the Western Male in the last 130 years?

We fight the fight for the Bible, and we’re being undercut by the ones who, like Robert Schuller in MacArthur’s tale, say arrogantly, “I can make the belief in an inerrant Bible mean anything I want.”

They protest that, but then put the following statement in their statement of faith: “I believe the Bible is inspired and inerrant in the original manuscripts.”

That means you believe that the current ones have errors. In other words, it’s a painless lie to state that. And I’m hearing Christians everywhere claim… “We’re winning the inerrancy war.”

No. We’re losing it. If by winning it, you mean more and more people are waking up to the KIng James Only issue… then slowly we’re winning. But we’re losing ground in other areas even faster. And I’m afraid my beloved Logos has the ability to reach in, and change any translatio without my say-so.

And trust me, that’s why Quickverse is still on my hard drive.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

