Rosh Hashanah


Today is Rosh Hashanah. It’s been a while since I was in a synagogue. On this day, I’d be getting my suit ready, my High Holy Day machzor. I’d make sure I had my apples and honey. Spend the morning at the Synagogue for the morning prayers (“We need a tenth for minyan!” “You have ten?” “When you show up!”… and never tell them that when they and the other nine I get to agree to be there….)

Two handle cup, and wash my hands, muttering the prayer in my Ashkenazi accent. Funny, a six week Hebrew class left me with tinges of a Sephardi accent, so my Hebrew sounds like a mix of both accents. Then off for the day… be there at Shul before sundown.

Everyone at the Shul is wearing something white. I remember that Stanley showed up with a pure white tie, and we all felt outdone. The Sephardi’s all wore white Yarmulkes. The service before this was the bidding war on who got what Torah Reading. I once bid on the next to last, and everyone else in the Shul, knowing I was basically poverty stricken (like most Chassids), stopped bidding immediately so I would get it. Eighteen dollars, and in the superstition of Chassidism, I would hopefully be sealed for a good year by Yom Kippur because I spent all I had on Rosh Hashanah.

And things were beginning to make sense. I kept seeing something in the Machzor. “Show us your Salvation.” it read over and over again. Over and over again, the High Holy Day machzor kept speaking of God’s Salvation as if it was SOMEONE, not SOMETHING. AS if it was a definite event at some point in history, and all the service was aimed at remembering that event.

Rosh Hashanah in known as CHag Ha-Teruah, feast of Trumpets. Which is odd, because we blow the ram’s horn. Tekiah, Teruah, Shevarim. Different horn calls, some a series of calls, some wavering, some regular. And it all builds up to Gedolah, the long, drawn out note that gets louder if you do it right.

Rosh Hashanah means something. If we just do the prayers as if its oligation, like we’re sleepwalking, we miss it. Tonight, if you are Jewish, open your eyes. Pay attention to what you’re prying. Because I guarantee it means what you think it means. It’s talking about who you think its talking about. And very soon, the Shofar, the ram’s horn, is about to blow.

And the biggest fear of every Jew is about to be revealed – when all the Christians suddenly disappear.

Rosh Hashanah is about Jesus Christ. And just as God led us out of Egypt at Pesach, so too will Jesus Christ take us out of this world when the Shofar blows the Gedolah in Heaven.

And then… you have seven of the worst years the world has ever seen at your doorstep.

Accept Jesus Christ now, before its too late.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

2 thoughts on “Rosh Hashanah”

    1. I’ve heard several different suggested dates for the date of Christ’s birth. The two most popular ones are Sukkot, which is in a couple of weeks, and December. Marc Monte actually does a very convincing job of showing the December date is very likely.
      I hadn’t seen Rosh Hashanah being Christ’s birth date before, though.

      Like

Your thoughts are welcome!

