Study Break 2 – Arianism II


There is an increasingly larger and larger percentage of Christianity that thinks that it’s okay to order God around. “God is powerless to act in this world due to Adam’s rebellion.” They teach. “This gave Satan legal license to this world.”

Hm. I don’t seem to really see that in my Bible. I’m teaching through Hebrews right now, to de-mystify what a lot of people conclude is the most difficult to understand book of the Bible. If there was ANY hint of this doctrine in the Bible, then it would be present here.

The problem with this doctrine, which springs from Arianism, is that – you can look and see that Satan does indeed consider himself lord of this world. It is in the Bible!

But nowhere does it say that God is powerless. God is simply not destroying Satan outright, because God has decreed the future from ages past. THe Bible says that. And in the parable of the Tares, God explains He does not removes the tares lest He uproot the wheat also. In other words, He’s trying to give everyone AMPLE time to make up their minds – choose God and Eternal LIfe – or choose sin and eternal punishment?

God is a limitless, infinite being. He is everywhere at once (omnipresent). He knows all things (omniscient). He is complete power (omnipotent).

He is really not powerless to act against Satan.

Yet we read of Kenneth Copeland rebuking Satan, while the Trinity stands nearby (a set of triplets, according to Copeland), completely powerless to act.

This unbiblical concept of a powerless God is taught by almost every last Word Faith teacher. It seems that all of them report visitations by God, or they ride a cable car to Heaven, where God begs them to help. “I need you, boy, I need you.” They report God as saying.

Okay, let’s check that against Scripture. Is Kenneth Copeland, Kenneth Hagin, Crefloe Dollar and the rest higher than Isaiah or Jeremiah? They must be, because God, who sends Jeremiah, does not beg him for help. “Jeremiah, I need you, boy! I need you! I’m powerless in this world without you!”

Jeremiah would have rightly looked at whoever was talking to him and said, “Who are you??? You are not the Lord of Hosts.”

Isaiah begged to be sent after being forgiven. And as amazing as his book of the Bible is, God never begged Isaiah for help.

Nor did God tell Daniel or Ezekiel that He was powerless to help! “I’d help you, but right now I cannot help without you asking me to!”

So, you have to start making uncomfortable conclusions that the god of Kenneth and Gloria Copeland, the god of Benny Hinn, the god of Myles Munroe, the god of Crefloe Dollar, the god of Joyce Meyer… is not the god of the Bible.

Yet when I say this, invariably, someone writes in a comment claiming I must not be saved!

Read the Bible for yourself. Odds are good that some of you believe this as well, because right now about 33% of Christianity claims to believe this doctrine, the powerless god, usually combined with the spiritual death of Jesus, and that Jesus was a created being. If you believe the last part, guaranteed – you are not saved.

THe rest I have grave questions about. I quote from another teacher here, Justin Peters, who says…

“A different Jesus is a different Gospel.”

“And a different Gospel cannot save.”

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

1 thought on “Study Break 2 – Arianism II”

  1. Amen Brother! having a form of godliness but denying the “power” – which they claim is their ridiculous so-called signs and wonders like “healing” a backache or rolling on the floor or being a “new” apostle or prophet, speaking for God. No, our God healed a man blind from birth and one unable to walk 38 years, and raised a man dead 4 days.

    POWER – Jesus said I lay down my life, that I might take it up again. No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father.

    I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ; for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.

    Thanks so much for all your hard work and help, I appreciate all.

    Amy

    Like

Your thoughts are welcome!

