Hebrews Part 11


“Being made so much better than the angels, as he hath by inheritance obtained a more excellent name than they. For unto which of the angels said he at any time, Thou art my Son, this day have I begotten thee? And again, I will be to him a Father, and he shall be to me a Son?” (Hebrews 1:4–5, KJV)

This verse completely invalidates the Seventh Day Adventist, Jehovah’s witness and Christadelphian claim Jesus Christ is an Angel.

The JW bible lists the verses in question as…

NWT2013] Hebrews 1:4 So he has become better than the angels to the extent that he has inherited a name more excellent than theirs. 5 For example, to which one of the angels did God ever say: “You are my son; today I have become your father”? And again: “I will become his father, and he will become my son”?

The word “example” is not in the Greek at all, peoples!

τίνι γὰρ τῶνἀγγέλων,

For (unto) which angels..

The NWT lies by putting “Example”. Why? This way they can shade a verse that refutes their doctrine into kind of supporting it. The JW will read that, and answer, “Why… Michael!”

To translate something to read the way you want it instead of what it says is lying, and Satan is the father of lies. So forget the Charles Taze Russell thing – Satan is the father of the Jehovah’s witnesses.

We’re now onto the first of the seven Old Testament quotations listed in Hebrews. I gave those back in the first installment of the series.

“I will be his father, and he shall be my son. If he commit iniquity, I will chasten him with the rod of men, and with the stripes of the children of men:” (2 Samuel 7:14, KJV)

“I will be his father, and he shall be my son: and I will not take my mercy away from him, as I took it from him that was before thee:” (1 Chronicles 17:13, KJV)

“I will declare the decree: The LORD hath said unto me, Thou art my Son; This day have I begotten thee.” (Psalm 2:7, KJV)

“Rejoice, O ye nations, with his people: For he will avenge the blood of his servants, And will render vengeance to his adversaries, And will be merciful unto his land, and to his people.” (Deuteronomy 32:43, KJV)

“Confounded be all they that serve graven images, That boast themselves of idols: Worship him, all ye gods.” (Psalm 97:7, KJV)

“Who maketh his angels spirits; His ministers a flaming fire:” (Psalm 104:4, KJV)

“Thy throne, O God, is for ever and ever: The sceptre of thy kingdom is a right sceptre. Thou lovest righteousness, and hatest wickedness: Therefore God, thy God, hath anointed thee With the oil of gladness above thy fellows.” (Psalm 45:6–7, KJV)

Hopefully, as you’re reading through your devotions, you’ll start spotting the verses that Hebrews quotes!

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

