Setting up your Bible software 2


We did Logos, Accordance, Wordsearch, and briefly Bible Analyzer before a sinus headache left me incapable of writing last week. I really didn’t explain how to do it in Bible analyzer, because it has a default setting, and doesn’t really offer any other desktops. That’s not what Bible Analyzer is for. But if you click the screwdriver/wrench icon, you can set up your preferences.

Okay. What else?

Olive Tree. Like Bible Analyzer, it doesn’t have any other desktops. It’s a wildly popular program because it’s designed for Kindles, nooks, etc. The PC version gives you a window on your right hand side you can open a commentary in. And Olive Tree gives you about 100 free books. I have it, as I’ve mentioned elsewhere, to be able to give you all explanations on how to do stuff in it. I recognize a lot of people have Kindles. I don’t. I thought I was fancy a couple of months ago when I finally added the Logos app on my cell phone! Everyone at work is congratulating me on upgrading from my slide phone, by the way. David Cloud gives a good explanation on how to use this program in his Effectual Bible Student series.

Quickverse. I’m spending more and more time in this program, because basically I have what was once the top of the line Bible program, selling at that time for $800. I remember in 2009 looking at Quickverse 2009, and seeing 2008 on sale as Findex was trying to clean out their shelves of the old versions to make way for the new one. I wanted it, but again, they were charging far more than I could afford, and it really was a heartache. Well, a couple of years ago I got QV 2010. The most you can do is set up 3 tiles. Left, right, bottom. If you set that up, and begin adding books wildly to it, you can drag and drop what you’re working on. Quickverse has a mild annoyance, as it literally keeps the spot you were in when you save a desktop. So, at least once a week, you have to save another desktop, since you won’t want to have to remember where you’re at!

By the way, the two top programs for Bible reading schedules are Logos, and Quickverse. Theyset up where to start reading, and where to stop – right in the Bible text. Excellent. How many times have you looked back to see, “Where am I reading until???”

as I’ve mentioned before, with the Quickverse interface, I just find it far more comfortable to have the Bibles on the right, the commentaries and dictionaries on the left. The bottom tile in my sermon writing desktop is for illustrations and quotes. you’ll want to get into the habit if you get this program of setting up multiple desktops, and deleting unneeded ones after a while.

King James Pure Bible Search. Only one desktop available, the default. Not too much in the way of changes you can make to it.

E-Sword: Esword is already set up in the “4 tile” approach of Quickverse 2 & 3. You can choose if you want one window maximized, etc. I choose to keep all the labels in one row, to maximize the reading space. It means you have to scroll to find a book like in wordsearch or Quickverse (BTW, there’s a lot of QV2-3 in E-sword – obviously Rick Meyers wrote it inspired by QV2). There’s really not a lot of customizable options for E-Sword. Yes, I know someone’s going to complain! Please send any complaints about this article to whitehouse.gov.

Thee. I finished this article. I hate leaving things undone.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

