Writing Commentary or Study Notes in your Bible Software


Why is this important? Not all of you are Pastors, although if you’re communicating the Gospel on your WordPress blog, it’s a good thing – you’re involved in the ministry that EVERY Christian is called to (1 Peter 3:15).

But ALL of you can use these features to take notes on what you’re reading! There’s three elements to Bible study…

  1. Reading
  2. Research
  3. Riting (okay, I left the ‘W’ off to alliterate it!

Reading is the Bible. Research means reading footnotes, looking up other related verses (cross references), looking up word meanings in dictionaries and encyclopedias, reading Bible handbooks, harmonies, surveys, and commentaries!

Note – David Cloud really recommends commentary study from Dispensational authors. You can use some of the others, but be aware that Matthew Henry and Matthew Poole are Calvinist and tended to interpret many things allegorically. If you understand this going in, you already know what to ignore. In many of my commentaries, IK simply highlight the wheat portion, and ignore the chaff. By 2017, I should finish reading all my commentaries, and by then I can simply look for my highlighted sections, and ignore anything not highlighted.

I’ll say this – if you are not taking notes on what you learn, you’re wasting your time. There’s almost no way to remember over 50,000 things you’ll learn on every verse in the Bible!

In Quickverse: If you have not done so, create a new user book, by Bible Verse (it offers you three options – verse, date, alphabetical). The book will automatically create, with a listing for every chapter of the Bible. I would have liked to see Findex add in the verses already, BUT… they didn’t. So, click on the plus (add new item), and it will begin adding in verses. Sadly, there is no way to add chapter and book notes. You can add in on say, Matthew 1:1 and then write in info on the book, then on the chapter, then on the verse and separate it with stars… but that’s your options.

Next, click the “edit this item” flag. (pencil and paper icon) Start typing! I periodically untoggle it and retoggle it to make sure it saves what I’ve written. Quickverse allows typing in Greek (μάγοι) and Hebrew. I have over 800 books, Bibles, & Commentaries in Quickverse. It’s got some annoying quirks, but that’s a huge resource, and I hate to turn my back on it.

In Wordsearch: writing commentary in wordsearch to me is less than exciting. the interface looks horrible. You either create a user book (same process as Quickbooks) or a Notebook. Really, the features in Wordsearch are lots of little leftovers from a lot of different programs. And sadly, it seems as if most of these are leftovers, and any further enhancement of these is sadly, wishful thinking. If Wordsearch had used many of my recommendations, they could have made this program really shine. Alas, they are deaf to suggestions.

If you create a notebook, then you have instant access by clicking the “notes” icon. Simply type in your verse (example 1pe 3.15) and click in the dialogue box and begin typing. Wordsearch does not allow Greek or Hebrew. You can enter it, but when you re-open the program all you see is little boxes instead of the Greek or Hebrew. I don’t understand it, because they added this feature after they bought Quickverse! How can you add this feature… and lose the ability of what you added? it makes no sense.

Logos: Really easy. Right click on a verse and “add user note”. I’ve got my notes open all the time, so I can save it to my user commentary. Tales Hebrew and Greek. Very conducive to writing.

Accordance: Under “User Notes”, I just created “my notes”. Wow. Really complicated name. But I was more interested in reviewing a new program for the blog, so everyone could be better informed. Now, click on a verse in your Bible window. You’ll see a pencil appear on the active verse… click that pencil. A note window will open, and you can type in it and click “update”. THe window closes, and adds your notes to your “My notes” file. Yes, it takes notes in Hebrew and Greek. It’s pretty easy, and I like the look of the results.

Olive Tree: Click on a verse. Add Note. Type. It probably helps to add tags and categories, but since Olive Tree is not something I use a lot, there you go. The note entry window functions similarly to that of Accordance. And yes… you can type in Greek and Hebrew.

E-Sword: Hopefully, if you use E-Sword and sent Rick Meyers a donation… you already know how to do this. You have Journal, topic, and study notes. Study notes. Go to the Study Notes and enter in your verse… Matthew 2:1. Uncheck the little chain icon, so that it stays on what notes you’re writing while you follow the TSK to look things up. Don’t forget to recheck the chain icon. And no… you cannot write in Greek or Hebrew. Hm.

What’s a topic note? Well, go to that window. Click the little page icon “create new topic.” Type in LOVE OF GOD, THE

Now enter in links on the love of God. Enter in your verbiage on God’s amazing love.

journaling – By the way, I say it every time, E-Sword’s Journaling function is the best in the business. If you’re not a pastor, you can enter in info on what you studied today. I had meant to write journals on what I learned during Seminary BUT… I was so incredibly busy that I didn’t have the time.

If E-Sword is something you use regularly, you really need to send Rick Meyers a donation. E-sword is actually donation ware. You shall not muzzle the ox as it treadeth out the grain.

Bible Analyzer: You simply enter your notes into the notes window. Unfortunately, it does not automatically load your notes in.. you have to manually open them. I would really love to see this great program really put some work into this feature… a Bible wide note function, that remains open and in use. That would be great. But I think Tim decided there are other programs you’ll probably use for this function. I don’t know if anyone really uses BA as their only Bible program. But every Christian on earth should own this program.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

