Lessonmaker


I know I’ve talked about this before, but its a module for Wordsearch. The original plan I think was for it to be a stand alone program for Sunday School teachers. The program got bought out by Wordsearch (I’m assuming all this from what I’m reading).

now it’s a module within Wordsearch. You click on the LM button, and the module opens up. Click your reference, “Panic”, select your entries (what out of your library you’d like to see included), and it readies the lesson.

All you get for free is the book of John. You originally could only add “lessons for adults” and “lessons for youths”.

Wordsearch now apparently has quite a bit of study material. I’m a little annoyed of course that they managed to get John 9 completely wrong. The focus of the chapter is not that the man was blind, but that he was full of faith, he believed, he came to the Lord, he was healed, and then, he endured persecution – which he met in a simple, stubborn, confrontational style.

Probably where I get it from, actually.

Anyway, most of the Lessonmaker questions focus on “if you were blind…”

My assumption is, whoever wrote up the Lessonmaker lessons has that problem themself.

Key verses to que in on are…

25 He answered and said, Whether he be a sinner or no, I know not: one thing I know, that, whereas I was blind, now I see. John 9:25 (KJV)

40 And some of the Pharisees which were with him heard these words, and said unto him, Are we blind also? 41 Jesus said unto them, If ye were blind, ye should have no sin: but now ye say, We see; therefore your sin remaineth. John 9:40-41 (KJV)

The chapter is not about a blind man being healed – it’s about a man in faith getting saved and seeing… but the Pharisees who could see were blind.

Focusing in on the healing is missing the point! There’s a lot here I could preach on (I have in the past) in this chapter. I’m a little crazy when preaching – once I preached on John 8, and once a chapter out of Hebrews. It took half the time of the sermon to READ the chapter, and then I had to quickly explain it. I ran a little over, but everyone actually understood.

Sermonettes make Christianettes.

Anyway, if some suitable teachers could be found to write Lessonmaker material, this could have been a major tool that would make Wordsearch invaluable. But back when I was learning computer programming, they emphasized GIGO – garbage in garbage out. If you have unqualified people writing these lesson modules, it’s a worthless tool.

And from what I saw at the Wordsearch website… yeah… most of what I was seeing didn’t look like it was good quality material. I suppose if you spent thousands and bought them all, you could draw from a bigger bank of questions, but the potential of a Sunday school teacher looking at this material and choosing all the wrong questions to discuss is overwhelmingly good.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

