A Plea for Pastoral Literacy 2


I recently addressed that most Independent Baptist pastors have not studied to shew themselves approved. No harm, no foul – but get yourself approved.

Why?

Pastors receive the greater condemnation. We will have to answer for how we teach our congregations. If you have not studied to shew thyself approved, you may be struggling for answers at the believer’s judgment on “Why did you go in advance of my will when I called you? I told you to prepare, and you did not. You assumed a pulpit when you were not ready. Why?”

That’s a bad moment as a pastor. It’s why I’ve answered the call, studied, studied, and did not assume a pulpit to preach until I had three years of Seminary done. It wasn’t until I had the Homiletics assignment, and ask my pastor if I could preach the sermons to him, and thus fulfill my requirements?

His answer was, no. You’re preaching the first one to me, then you’re preaching one Wednesday Evening every other week.

Yeah. That’s how it works. Sometimes, in Seminary, churches begin asking the seminaries, “Who do you have that’s ready?” In one drastic case in history, a Seminary in Bowdoin, Maine named one student named Frank Sandford who’d been there TWO MONTHS.

Was that a problem? Turn on TBN. Everything you’re seeing there is the result of that one faulty decision.

Incidentally, if the church in Shiloh, Maine wants to get their doctrine right, yes, I’d take the job. I have absolutely no problem trying to right the mistakes of 120 years ago. How bad was that decision? Everyone that died because they threw away their medication, it can eventually be traced back to Frank Sandford.. The three people that died in Shiloh, and the ones who died on the yacht that was taking Sandford around the world. All his fault.

Huge mistake.

Here’s another huge mistake – worship of the King James Bible. I am King James only. I only use the King James, and have written extensively against modern translations.

But one very odd man has written some truly bizarre and unScriptural things about it, claiming it is inspired above and beyond the Greek and Hebrew manuscripts, and it’s a sin to read the Bible in any language but English.

What’s the consequences of that? Some of you reading this blog have made comments that their doctrinal conviction is that we should only be reading the King James… and not looking into the GReek. There’s suspicion when you open the Textus Receptus – even though a lot of lip service is paid to it!

By the way, I have freely shared over the last four years all my learning. I haven’t addressed EVERYTHING I learned, but when I could work it in, I did. I truly hope I have taught all of you who’ve stuck with me some things about the Bible.

Pastors, get teaching. Get learning. Open some Bible dictionaries. Don’t be one of those pastors with a large library on your shelf and a large library in your software, and you never use any of the materials! Some tools, like the King James Dictionary is indispensable. Are you using it? Webster’s 1827. Are you using it? Bible knowledge commentary. Do you use it? Vine’s greek. Do you use it?

Your job is to teach the Bible. You can’t do it if you don’t know it yourselves.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

