New Skills – Highlighting


Highlighting is no new skill. I remember when I was young going off to college with my mother, and watching her use a yellow highlighter to highlight important things in her textbooks.

As I got older, I got into highlighting texts. Not so much – I had my own system of circle the first letter or number of the important quote. My eyes were drawn to it.

When I got saved a few years back, I bought a Bible and marker pens. Basically colored tailor’s wax, they leave a good highlight without obscuring the text.

I really got into it with Wordsearch. There’s 12 different colors, but like Qquickverse before it, the colors are way too solid to use. They obscure the text. After I sent in my 38 or so suggestions to Wordsearch, they added the concept of colored underlining.

Now, that works! There’s about 4 colors too light to underline with! So, to use those colors, right click on the marker icon and change to “normal”.

Now, the 12 colors (of which four were usable) becomes 12 colors. And a few can do double duty.

You aren’t required to highlight the entire verse! You can highlight just reoccurring words that are important.

Or just the verse number if you’re trying to call attention to something specific. You can name the colors like purple is “salvation”. I had a scheme like that, but it really interfered with the way my brain works. For me, highlighting is important verses. I just use different colors so that the whole page is not a solid mass of purple.

Wordsearch

This way you can see my highlighting.

Quickverse is similar, but there’s only about six colors that really work. They only have the solid highlights, not the underlining.

Accordance has a different method. You still highlight, but they really pushed the “Inductive” method. I’m kind of tired of saying it, because it’s not inductive at all (where are the prepositions???), but hey… whatever. The name has stuck, thanks to Kay Arthur. So they give you a million little symbols, and you select a word (every use of “God” or “Lord”). Choose a symbol, and use that to highlight every use of those words. I am opposed to the use of the Triquetum for that purpose (which Accordance suggests using) simpy because if you really look at a Triquetum, it’s… three sixes.

No thank you.

But you can use a crown or some other symbol. Accordance lets you choose what meaning you want to give to what symbol.

Logos has great highlighting, but… they don’t just end it there. Their highlights are not as opaque as is Wordsearch or Quickverse. They give you many, many different ways to highlight. Don’t like theirs??? Well… they let you make your own!

For instance, for my sermon on Matt. 1:1-17, I created a highlight scheme that consisted of a number inside an oval. I made 1 through 14. I then tagged all the names in the genealogy of Jesus Christ so I could see at a glance who is #8 in each of the three groups of 14.

These are really cool features. And if you look for the little three dot pyramid, you can click on that (visual filters) and choose if you want to see those highlights or not! That’s really handy. Why? Have you ever thought, “I’d like to highlight that, but I don’t want to see those things all the time!”

One read-through of the Bible should be for highlighting. Another should be for your clippings and passage lists. I think you’d be waaaay too bogged down trying to do everything at once!

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

