Collecting Texts


It used to always really impress me when Pastors would start talking about some verse in Hosea, then suddenly they’re looking at Amos 2 and Joel 3 or something like that. “Man! How many years did you have to study the Bible to be able to know these verses go together?”

Well, it turns out if you have good cross references, there you go. I remember using the template for sermons written by another Fundamentalist pastor, and his way of studying the Bible took so long! He insisted on… well, almost the same stuff I’m talking about here.

The obsession with cross references is a David Cloud thing. I was more of a “Yeah, that’s cool, huh, look at that” till this December, when I watched the David Cloud videos. He stressed collecting as many cross references as possible. So now, I use them a lot. My view of the Bible has changed DRASTICALLY since then. It’s absolutely amazing to me that the Lord can use two events a thousand years apart, and make them on the same topic or theme!

It’s the same thing in all the Bible programs – use the TSK. Most Bible programs see no reason to reinvent the wheel. Logos did, so they have combined almost EVERYTHING in their engine. Just go to the “Go box” and type in your passage, and lo and behold, it collects references from every book in your library. So now Torrey’s, Nave’s, and all those really impressive lists of related verses in Matthew Henry’s commentary… they all combine with TSK to give you three times more cross references than any other program.

If you’re doing this in Wordsearch, it’s easy… just click on your commentary tab and choose the TSK, which Wordsearch considers a commentary.

In Quickverse… same thing. It is in Accordance, I think. Accordance for me has all its use in the Greek tools, and soon when I get the Logos 6 Basic, I’ll soon run out of use for Accordance.

But in both Logos and in Wordsearch, you can highlight the TSK’s verses, and add them to verse lists-passage lists (depending on which program you’re using. You can also send them right to the note file you’re writing your sermon in).

You can also open the Power Lookup window in Logos, which will display all the cross references. Just hit the “copy” button and you’re good to go.

I have a “Text gathering” portion of my sermon template. I load all my verses into that section. Now, I can mouse over them and read them without losing my spot (use the Wordsearch infowindow, or just mouse over in Logos). Is that verses really going to add information to my sermon? I hope. If it’s TOO much, I have to make choices.

Pastors tend to get all gee-whiz over various little things in the passages. The congregation tends to start yawning when you add too much info to the passage. I don’t believe in dumbing down sermons – I mean, the title I’m kicking around in my mind for my church plant is “Open Bible Baptist Church”. That really says a LOT about what the church is about. Only people who really like delving into the word will attend!

But very often, you have to make choices. Does it really matter when I’m preaching on Matt. 4:1-11 to get into the kinds of animals that live in the wilderness? Yeah, I get into that. I mean, I would love to get Proclaim and a big projector system and that way I can loop videos of Israel while I preach on it. “There’s the wilderness.”

Lo and behold. I’ve eliminated a thousand words. Makes a big difference. Tonight I was watching a video inside Logos of what En Gedi looks like! And Gethsemane.

Once you’ve examined the other verses related, and built up on what you learned reading commentaries… it’s time to look things up!

In Logos, they’ve added the Cambridge cross references into the text. you see them as (C), (D), etc.

  1. Highlight your text
  2. right click
  3. Choose passage guide
  4. The passage guide opens.
  5. Highlight the “Cross references” section
  6. Add to your sermon note file, or save as verse list.
  7. If there are any parallel passages, repeat the same

The larger the package of Logos, literally, the more cross references you’ll have. Logos is expensive, though. Literally, the base package for me is $283.00, or $45 for six months. And of course, there are some packages that are hundreds of dollars a month for a year. At that cost, I’m limited to waiting for them to have a six year payment plan! (If I ever get a church that offers me a book budget, I am sooo grabbing Logos Baptist Platinum!)

The good news about Logos is that, once you buy something, they discount all other packages by that item’s discounted price. Getting the King James dropped the package price a few dollars. So if you got Logos blah blah, then you’d see the package price drop based upon the discounted price for all the shared modules.

In Wordsearch, just open the TSK (I keep mine open in the Commentary carousel). Click the “next” button in the dictionary carousel until you reach it. You’ll have to open your info window, and then mouse over every reference. if it’s usable, then highlight, copy, add to sermon file. Literally, this is how I’ve done it for years. Or you could just copy every reference, which sometimes I’ve often done.

It’s understandably a little faster in Logos.
Now that you understand how to collect texts, remember to consult your topical bibles, like Nave’s and Torrey’s. Logos does this automatically, so in other programs you’ll have to do it manually. Since Matthew 4:1-11 deals wtih the temptation of the Lord, try looking up “Jesus Christ”, “Satan”, “wilderness” and “temptation”. since we found out a couple of days ago that the word “tempt” here also means “Test”, let’s look that up too.

1. Falling through Temptation—Psa. 95:8; Heb. 3:8; Luke 8:13. God’s testings are for our tempering, and not for our tripping.

2. Praying against Temptation—Matt. 6:13; 26:41. God never leads us to sin in His tryings, but He does test that we may triumph—James 1:13, 14.

F. E. Marsh, 1000 Bible Study Outlines: Study Helps and Sermon Outlines, (Grand Rapids, MI: Kregel Publications, 1970), WORDsearch CROSS e-book, 379.

Trust me, just looking through my dictionary window with “temptation” in the subject window lead to more cross references than I could read through in a month! So, comparing scripture with Scripture, there’s a ton there. In that case, I usually turn to Torrey’s, as he’ll have less references, but he’s already separated wheat from chaff, so it’s quicker to get to the meat of the matter.

Ready? Tomorrow, let’s look at sermon points and purpose.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???