To Learn


It’s funny to me that people come to me claiming to want to learn (which is great – that’s what this blog is for), but in reality, they are coming to subtly attempt to argue.

A quick search of the Scriptures on Subtle shows – it’s not a good thing.

In the past, someone comes in, asking a question, and by the third exchange, it’s an argument. Like the woman who came to the blog last year full of flattery, asking a simple question, and by the time I stopped the exchange, she made it clear she thought I either wasn’t saved because I don’t speak in tongues, or …I don’t know! I couldn’t interpret what she was getting at, other than faulty Keswicking type theology.

Answering people’s questions takes time. I’m often a bull in a china shop, and I have to re-type my answers a few times to avoid hammering people. Sometimes it comes out that way, like recently when I asked an honest question in order to show someone they had grave errors in their thinking, and they accused me of being passive aggressive.

There’s nothing passive about me. I’m too quick to tell someone right to their face they’re in error. Recently I had that happen where someone was advocating sheer heresy, and I told him – right to his face – that what he was advocating was not only heresy, but damnable heresy. I was very upset that I had to do it, but he and I had argued before about speaking in tongues and I tried to get out of that conversation, too!

No, I’m not passive aggressive at all. I asked a simple question, aimed to show someone the flaws in their thinking, and it backfired on me.

Understand, I will teach anyone. I have patiently answered Atheists, and had some good exchanges with some of them (you wanna talk aggressive? New Atheists can be aggressive, insulting, and downright rude. And they can be honest, forthright, and downright funny, too!).

Answering comments takes time. I spent an hour answering one question on my blog recently, acutally parsing Greek to give the person the answer.

If I got four questions or comments to answer, it literally would take all my time between dinner and bed.

I am a Fundamentalist. I take the Bible literally. I spent some time a year ago challenging those who were NOT Fundamentalists to answer some very uncomfortable questions. Nobody took up the challenge.

If you want to learn… I’ll help. Hey, that’s why I’m here.

If you want to correct me… you’re arguing with the wrong guy. Go pick on someone easier, like David Cloud. Arguing with me is like arguing with Isaiah. “Speak no more in the name of the Lord of Hosts!” “Okay. Thus sayeth the Lord of Hosts…”

When I say I don’t have time for debates, I’m not kidding. I’m writing three Master’s Thesises, and one of them is probably going to be a 400 page book by the time its done!

If you want to learn… great!

If you want to argue, go away.

“Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them. For they that are such serve not our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly; and by good words and fair speeches deceive the hearts of the simple.” (Romans 16:17–18, KJV)

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

1 thought on “To Learn”

  1. Since someone asked… or rather, accused me of thinking that everyone who disagrees with me is not saved – here’s the summation of the argument with the person face to face.
    It’s called Arianism.
    “Arianism is a Christian belief that asserts that Jesus Christ is the Son of God who was created by God the Father at a point in time, is distinct from the Father and is therefore subordinate to the Father. Arian teachings were first attributed to Arius (c. AD 250–336), a Christian presbyter in Alexandria, Egypt. The teachings of Arius and his supporters were opposed to the prevailing theological views held by proto-orthodox Christians, regarding the nature of the Trinity and the nature of Christ. The Arian concept of Christ is that the Son of God did not always exist but was created by God the Father. This belief is based on an interpretation of a verse in the Gospel of John (14:28):[1] “You heard me say, ‘I am going away, and I am coming back to you.’ If you loved me, you would be glad that I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I.”
    …”Arius taught that God the Father and the Son of God did not always exist together eternally.[4] Arians taught that the Logos was a divine being created by God the Father before the world and that the Son of God is subordinate to God the Father.[5] Arius and his followers appealed to Bible verses such as Jesus saying that the father is “greater than I.” (John 14:28) A verse from Proverbs was also used: “The Lord created me at the beginning of his work” (Proverbs 8:22),.[6]”

    “Arianism.” Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia, June 1, 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Arianism&oldid=723190153.

    Arianism is condemned as a heresy by all Christian teachers today. It’s why we condemn Jehovah’s Witnesses as cult members. A quick search on the Internet will show that Arianism is widely rejected.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are welcome!

