Inductive Bible Study


The latest thing I suppose is inductive Bible study.

I know what they’re trying to say it is, and what it is is not enough. Actually, Inductive is poorly worded, it’s more deductive. In Inductive Bible Study, we would start with an adjective “Who, What, Where, When Why, How” and examine the Bible text to derive who the Lord is speaking to.

Well, Inductive Bible Study has come to mean things like “Find everywhere in your Bible text where the Author refers to ‘I’ and ‘We’, and underline that with a pencil mark.” It comes with a whole series of special highlights in a legend, and you go through and find those places in the text and mark them this way.

Accordance Bible Software is the king for this. They have extensive libraries with different inductive symbols and colors. When I got the demo, I started going through and highlighting, and after about a day I got annoyed wtih it, and promptly removed it.

Logos 6 had it too. At first, my thought was, “well, that’s neat… but I hate seeing all those distracting symbols all over the Bible text.”

Then I read on the Logos blog (part of the Logos 6 start screen) about visual filters. I’d read that you could make the verse numbers go away. Gee. Useless, I thought.

But apparently you can do that with Inductive markings, too. So you can mark them, and when they get annoying, you can click the triangle of dots, and remove the checkmark by “inductive” and suddenly all the inductive markings dissapear.

Is it important?

I am surprised after three days of doing it, what i’ve learned. What’s the one subject heading in the Bible it considers crucial, yet we ignore it?

I’ll give you a hint, it’s the name of the most important prayer in Judaism.

“Hear.” To Hear or listen. The Psalms in some part seem to be dwelling constantly on “to listen”. It’s David listening for the LOrd. It’s David crying out in supplication, and then more than halfway through, the answer starts appearing. The Lord hears his prayer. The Lord listens and answers.

I’ve never noticed it before.

See, you CAN learn new things.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

