Occupational Hazards


When you do a blog like this, there is indeed an occupational risk, that your doctrines will become affected. You can’t keep refuting error, without occaisionally stopping to make sure your doctrine is RIGHT. That your walk is not affected.

I have to periodically look things up in modern Bible translations, to see how they corrupt the word of God. A simple way to fix that is to… read the Bible. Look up the same verse, but make sure you do some other redaing besides.

I have to read the writings of men who (in very many cases) are not saved – you cannot take the attitude like, “I don’t believe Daniel was written in the 6th century…” and be saved. You at that point are denying the word of God. Daniel was written in the time of Daniel. It’s tantamount to saying, “much of Genesis was written in the 5th century BC.” Which, by the way, many of them believe. And a great amount of evangelical Christain doctrinal teachings come from men who do not believe the Bible.

The answer to that is simple. periodically keep reading the writings of men who do believe the Bible.

David Cloud. George Zeller (I don’t agree with everything he writes – he’s committed to the concept of a Universal Church, which I don’t believe is a Biblcal concept). David Warner. Dan Botterbrodt. Marc Monte. I listen to these men and read their writings, because it helps me to stay focused. And there’s a few others.

And then there’s 27 books I regularly read, partr of a larger collection of 66 books. There’s a very good reason that I spend my time reading through the Bible three times in a year – it helps me to counteract the influence of any heretical teachings I have to read for research.

I can honestly say, getting a BA. in Theology really helped me a lot. My Seminary was KJO, Independent Baptist – and even more Fundamental than I am! I would never have survived at Liberty University or Regent – I’d have argued with my professors every step of the way, doubtless called most of them heretics, and probably been expelled.

For believing the Bible.

Stay strong in the Word. Keep yourself focused by reading your Bible. Abstain from all appearance of evil. Separate from those who teach error. And you’ll have few problems with error creeping in.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

13 thoughts on “Occupational Hazards”

      1. Left grade school at 14 to attend college. Went from that to technical school when PC’s became commercially available. Former member of the National Foundation of Gifted and Creative Children. Attended some Yeshiva classes, then graduated with a Ba. Div. from Seminary. Currently working on my Masters.

        Like

      2. my previous answer…. suppositions that did not conform to Newtonian physics, cosmological models that have no apparent resolution, and we end up with the Watchmaker’s argument. Only the Bible answers the Watchmaker’s Argument. So I conformed my thoughts to that of the Bible.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It boiled down to a lot of supposition on the part of Astronomers on lengths of time. Apparently, nothing plus nothing equals something makes sense when you add “once upon a time.” Some of the theories violate Newton, which is why Hoyle was opposed to the Big Bang. I saw more evidence of things lining up with the Bible, and could only come to one conclusion –
        1. There is ample proof of God
        2. There is ample proof of the bible’s accuracy
        3. There is an empty tomb in Jerusalem
        4. Therefore, when God said creation was 6,000 years ago (give or take…) I believe it.

        Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are welcome!

