The Word Of God


89 For ever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven. Psalm 119:89 (KJV)

I really want to break apart those words.

Forever means… forever. World without end. Amen.

Meaning from the time God wrote His Bible, it was settled.

The Bible tells us the Lord calls the Bible perfect in 1 Corinthians 13:10 and Psalm 12:6-7. The Bible tells us The Lord will preserve His Bible forever in Matthew, Luke and Psalm 12.

You either believe that, or… you don’t.

Consider what the Bible says about those who reject the Bible.

155 Salvation is far from the wicked: for they seek not thy statutes. Psalm 119:155 (KJV)

158 I beheld the transgressors, and was grieved; because they kept not thy word. Psalm 119:158 (KJV)

Wicked. Transgressors. That’s what the Bible calls the Textual Criticism crowd, those who think they can dismiss God’s word, and decide for God what is and what is not God’s word.

Me, I dunno, I look it up in the Bible. If it’s in the Bible, I accept it. If it’s not, I reject it.

Sam Gipp calls the Textual Criticism crowd “…So smarrt, they can find things in the Bible even God can’t!”

It’s a great line.

Here’s the bottom line. If you do not believe the Bible is inerrant, preserved, and inspired, perfect and the sole authority of our faith and practice…

the Bible says you are a transgressor. The Bible says you are among the wicked.

That’s something to think about, very seriously.

When I first got saved, I prayed very earnestly that God would teach me sound doctrine. That God would open my eyes to His Bible, and help me to learn what was in it.

I very quickly left behind any doubt as to the sufficiency of the Bible. I had no doubt that the Bible was the pure word of God. And very quickly, I became convinced that the Bible was without error.

Yet many Christian teachers taught the Bible was full of errors. I heard Warren Wiersbe teach that the Bible should REALLY read this in this passage.

My immediate reaction was, “Then why didn’t God right it that way?”

In one moment, I dropped the textual criticism stuff forever. One little thought, popping into my head, that emerged out of my mouth.

It only took a month after that to find out that the modern translations were Bible perversions, and not Bible versions. I was convinced in an exhaustive amount of research as to the King James Bible.

You know how long it took me to research it and find out?

45 minutes. If it takes you longer, you took a coffee break. It took me 45 minutes because I didn’t like the answer and I kept searching for an answer I did like.

I never got a different one.

So, what does that say about those Bible teachers who do not have a pure, preserved word of God? What does the Bible say about them?

53 Horror hath taken hold upon me because of the wicked that forsake thy law. Psalm 119:53 (KJV)

4 They that forsake the law praise the wicked: but such as keep the law contend with them. Proverbs 28:4 (KJV)

4 Therefore the law is slacked, and judgment doth never go forth: for the wicked doth compass about the righteous; therefore wrong judgment proceedeth. Habakkuk 1:4 (KJV)

Those that contend with, and try to correct God’s word – the Bible calls them false, evil, and wicked.

Think about that.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

