Time to Leave the SBC


 

If you too are still attending a SBC church, or one closely affiliated, it’s time. The convention is really making it clear that Fundamentalists are no longer welcome in the SBC.

It’s time to write your letter of resignation to your SBC church and go Independent Baptist. And if there’s no non-Ruckmanite, non-Hyles, non-Brider Independent Fundamental Baptist church in your town… it’s time to start praying about getting with likeminded believers and looking for a Pastor to help you start a church.

CS Lewis and New Evangelicalism

Evangelicals and Cintemplative Mysticism

New Evanegelicalism

Steering Clear of New Evangelicalism

Baptist Music Wars

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

10 thoughts on “Time to Leave the SBC”

  1. I am so blessed to have a great IFB church only 20 minutes away. Even though it is rock solid on doctrine – CCM is continually trying to creep in. In my experience, it is only a matter of when, not if, my church will fall to ecumenism via the music. There is s definite evil spirit attached to this music, and once it gets in, it’s nigh impossible to get it out.

    Once something is heard – it can not be unheard.

    Please everyone – do everything you can to keep CCM out of your IFB church.

    Like

    1. To quote Marc Monte, “Once there’s a compromise on music, all else is compromised shortly after.” There’s another quote he has which said something along the lines of “CCM comes in, and doctrines begin to change almost immediately.”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, Philip. It’s heartbreaking. The lack of discernment is excused with the “we are not musicians.” But I am! Why don’t they believe me?

        One thing I will praise my pastor for. After I sent him a deep email with specifics on how CCM worked its evil magic, he did place a ban on CD accompaniments for “offerings.” It’s only a finger in the dyke, I’m afraid.

        I’ve offered to give some instruction on back beats, but I have been cautioned to tread carefully. I will, he’s my pastor, and I’m thanking God that he actually sees the problem, though he can not detect what is wrong with the music.

        I will do what I can. This is my ability, and I will use it for Him. Praise Him!

        Like

  2. Looks Like Brother Cloud’s website “http://www.wayoflife.org” is down.
    Hope this is soon restored, there are some great resources there.

    The WaybackMachine at “https://web.archive.org/web/20160112070757/http://www.wayoflife.org/” may hep with some of the information needed until the site is restored.

    Like

      1. Easy believism is the concept pushed by Jack Hyles in which one did a “one two three repeat after me” prayer, with no mention whatsoever of repentence. I know you’re well acquainted with Hyles and his teachings – in the well publicized Hylesecost, where he claimed to have saved more souls in one day than were saved in Acts 2, Hyles may have gotten thousands to repeat after him – but how many attended his church after that? One year later, how many could be found still attending his church? How many signed up for Hyles-Anderson to begin studying the word of God and yielding to a call on their lives?
        This is the major issue with Jack Hyles, is that one repeated a memorized prayer and thought they were saved.
        Real salvation comes when one understands they are a sinner, and that they cannot go to heaven without God’s saving forgiveness. Once they understand they are hell bound without forgiveness, THEN they can repent of being a sinner, and pray to God earnestly, in their own words, and ask for forgiveness. What work must they do after that point???

        Not a thing.

        The Lord gives grace freely.

        The difficulty is in trying to explain a simple Bible concept, because there’s been so many false teachers who have tried to introduce Lordship Salvation, salvation by works, salvation by election (Calvinism), and many other errors or heresy.
        I do recommend this article, as it does explain the controversy in detail, and the correct understanding. “easy prayerism or Bible Evangelism“. also, The Hyles Effect and Lordship Salvation.

        Like

      2. You might want to read the David Cloud materials on Jack Hyles and Jack Schaap. I’m not knocking a servant of God, but certainly we should never elevate a man of God to the levels Jack Hyles was worshipped at. I can only describe the devotion people gave him as being cultic.
        I have never attended a Hyles church, so I can’t speak from direct knowledge.

        Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are welcome!

