Straw Man Redux


Going through my VOLUMINOUS documentation on church planting is daunting. Sometimes I start to read it, and lose my temper and delete something. An article I had just read completely caused me to stop and answer what was written.

An author who I used ti respect wrote in one article a line that says “I do not see any passage in my Bible that says “Ye shall only use the KJV”.

That is raising a serious straw man.

By that token, you can deny the Trinity, the Rapture and… even the Bible, as the Bible does not contain the word “Bible”. But I’ve got one sitting next to me. And very soon, I have perfect faith that I’ll be going up in the Rapture. And when I am there, I will meet the Trinity.

There are verses that say, “Do not add unto Scripture.” There are verses saying that if you take away from Scripture, you will have no part in the Lamb’s book of life.

That’s really serious.

The modern Bible translations do just that. They add to, change words, say things that the Bible does not say, and takes away CRUCIAL verses from the Bible. I can’t understand for the life of me why you’d have such a position.

To say that all Bibles say the same thing is a gross error. It reveals willing ignorance, or that you’re lying. If you didn’t research the KJV issue from BOTH sides, then quite simply, keep your opinion to yourself! I can honestly say, I researched the KJV issue hoping to debunk it. Instead, I was convinced.

Next straw man – to claim Baptists are not Protestants is creating a pope. I cannot for the life of me follow that logic at all. Nope.

Historically, The connection from Baptist to Anabaptist can be done with ease. The Connection from Anabaptist to Waldensian, Donatist, Catharists, Albigenses, etc is easily done. You may be upset that ruins your nicely laid out ekklesiology, but it changes nothing. I have SEVERAL books on Baptist history, and the Trail of Blood is not the only one. One of the biggest Christian libraries used to belong to David Cloud, before he sold it – and he makes PDF’s available of the out of print and hard to find books for anyone interested in duplicating a well-traveled road.

So, if I trust the four or five books I have on this subject… how is this making a Pope? Who is it? Where is he? I’m completely baffled by that.

Last but not least, this same author used the term “Majoring on the minors and minoring on the majors.” Okay, that’s the well recycled version of “In all things charity.”

Ecumenism is a poison pill. To follow that is to let your own standards slide a low, hollow death.

I really hope he has changed his mind on these issues since he wrote them. It was from a WordPress blog I’m not even sure he has anymore. The thing was, I probably thought he was a Fundamentalist back before I even really knew what one was, and somehow I missed all this. I’m probably just getting to see what his openly stated positions were, and it was my mistake all this time. He is apparently an Evangelical, and not a Fundamentalist. I have quoted him in the past, as he’s written some very good things on pastoring, which I think are on the mark. But I do not recommend his writings on other subjects.

I’m really sad now.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

2 thoughts on “Straw Man Redux”

    1. I would rather not say. I did not contact this man first before I wrote the article. I will only say that he put his comments out there publicly years ago. If he repented and took them down, then I’d rather not drag his name through the mud. I will contact him privately as soon as things slow down a little, and if he does not retract them I may give his name.

      Like

Your thoughts are welcome!

