A list of commonly mispronounced Bible words!!!!


Easy one. You can print this and put this in your Bible.

Ashdod – Ash -dowd, rhymes with rowed “row row row your ashdod”

Lot – Loat, rhymes with boat

Haggai – kha guy. There’s only one I, and for some reason everyone says Hag Ee Aye. NO!!! Bad. The Kh sound is like you’re lightly clearing your throat.

Ahaseurus – A khash veh rowsh. See? Easy.

Joab – Joe obb. In Hebrew, Yo’av

Revelation – Revelation (the book) not Revelations (a rock and roll song)

If you’re trying to say Jesus in Hebrew it’s Jeee-zus. (okay, if you REALLY gotta know, the Roman Catholic movie had it right – it’s Yay-shooa in Judean, Yeh-shua in Galilean)

Most Bible names are easy to pronounce. But there’s a few that are hard to do.

Rachel is not Ray-chell, but Rah khel.

Job is of course – Jobe. Well done, everyone!

There’s a number of Biblical names that I just really can’t get used to saying in English, having heard them said in Hebrew at so many Shabbes services. Abraham still tends to be Avraham with me. Ahaseurus for me was EASY in Hebrew, really tough in English. What in the world??? Just say the Hebrew. it;s a lot easier. Hezekiah is Khizkiyahu. Real easy for me to say. I could say it all day. And there are certain phrases I read in the New Testament, where they are so important, I find myself saying them in Hebrew in my mind, because the Gospel of John is so incredibly Holy. There’s pure, solid meat in that book, not just milk.

All right. Enjoy!

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

