Kent Hovind


Completely off topic.

But I want to take a moment to say I only showed Kent’s apologetics seminars, the second series without all of the weird conspiracy theory stuff, the “cures” for cancer, etc. Still has the weird “Adam was a giant” stuff, but I think most people can listen to that and think, “okay, that’s a little odd…”

I don’t know what’s going on with Kent – he used to be an Independent Fundamental Baptist.

Now he’s really starting to sound like Chuck Swindoll, and it’s scaring me.

I have never advocated we follow Kent’s doctrines, because  it was obvious to me his doctrinal stands were a little off, such as saying Genesis was written by multiple men, and pyramidology, and etc.

Now i’m distancing myself even further. Kent, now that you’re out of prison and have some freedom and time, you MIGHT want to start reading this blog. Follow the calendar pages all the way back to when I first started, and get caught up to, well, daily.

In addition, you might want to get some David Cloud materials. Doctrinally, you’re really scaring me right now, by advocating easy believism, salvation without repentance,  and… the Shack??? Really??? The Shack???

Listen, people, if you’ve ever read the Bible, it really shouldn’t be too hard to read the Shack and realize it’s a very dangerous book.

When Kent is saying that’s the best representation of the Trinity (Oprah as God the Father and an Asian woman with the name of the Hindu river of death as the Holy spirit) he’s ever read…. that’s really scary. I’d say avoid Kent right now while he tries to make sense of his life, and gets his doctrine right, because right now he’s sounding more like a Methodist than a Bible Believing Baptist.

Kent, get your nose back in the King James Bible.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

3 thoughts on “Kent Hovind”

  1. Kent joined up with wacky Steven Anderson – to scare believers into believing that we are going through the Great Tribulation. I believe he even featured in the DVD – “After the Tribulation.” I was sooo shocked that Kent Hovind has left his fundamental position. I wonder why this is happening more and more. And they both cozied up to Alex Jones, for the purposes of pushing their heretical film. Strange bedfellows for believers, since Alex Jones can not be counted as one as far as I know.

    Like

  2. I agree with you that something very strange is going on with Hovind. Endorsing the shack, switching to pre-wrath, yoking up with Alex Jones and Steven Anderson. I’m curious as to what your definition of “easy believism” is. I’ve found many people twist that term around into a works for salvation theology but I don’t expect that from you after reading your blog for a while.

    Like

  3. I find that Hovind is fairly well skilled at refuting Evolutionism and he seems to have a passionate heart for seeing people saved, but he has always held some heretical beliefs and strange views in other areas. However, since he has gotten out of prison, I believe his cheese has finally slid off the cracker.

    I think that one of his more dangerous sayings is, “Eat the meat and spit out the bones.” He says it with regard to The Shack and other books and teachings that contain heretical writings. That is an incredibly dangerous thing to tell Christians, especially new Christians, to do; Satan’s entire modus operandi is to mix in falsehoods with truths.

    I am surprised that neither Kent Hovind nor Steven Anderson searches, on the Way of Life website, produce any results. I cannot imagine that both of them have slipped past Brother Cloud’s radar.

    Like

Your thoughts are welcome!

