Phrases Christians Use I Absolutely Hate!


You know how it is… you’re in a bad mood, you stop off somewhere and step out of your car into a big puddle you didn’t see. Now you’re feet are wet. You run into the store and drop something. As you’re paying for the stuff you had to hunt for because the way they stock store shelves, the clerk says…

“have a nice day.”

Ugh.

Okay, now for the phrases Christians use that absolutely drive me absolutely off the wall. I try not to be contentious. I try not to correct everyone. But these are not just “I hate when people say this” but actually, these are genuine barometers that show how far off from the Bible you are.

We all want to be biblical. We all want to line up our lives to the word of God.

So, let’s look at these.

“Just walk around with a smile on your face and sooner or later people will ask why you’re so happy”.

ANSWER… Sooner or later, people will think you need medication. I’ve never heard of any saved Christian who has continued to bear fruit whose testimony was… “I saw someone smiling all the time.” There’s no case of anyone doing this in the Bible. There’s no instruction of this in any epistle. Instead, we have “how will they know unless someone preach?”

When we get to heaven we won’t be suprirsed whose there, we’ll be surprised we are.” ANSWER – the genesis of this was, “When we get to heaven, we’ll be suprised who made it.”

read that a couple of times. What does that mean, and where does it come from?

This phrase originated in Universalism. Universalism was crushed in debates in the 1880’s, defeated in the 1930’s, and smashed in the 1960’s – and STILL popping up its ugly head. It has learned to go in hiding, having been soundly defeated in every debate.

It has learned to keep its mouth shut, except to infect an unaware Christianity who is otherwise immune to its rhetoric except for the pervasive impact of this commonly repeated phrase. Christians who would reject an out and out heretic saying, “Why, EVERYONE will be saved” have been drastically influenced by this evil saying.

WHY would we possibly be surprised who is saved??? If you walked around heaven and asked, “how were you saved” the answer would be, “I was saved by grace through faith in Jesus Christ by being born again.”

Now, are you saying that today’s plastic Christianity would be surprised that some person who simply repeated the sinners prayer, and never darkened the door of a church ever again would end up in heeaven? No, that wouldn’t surprise today’s christians at all. It would astound me – but I’m not the Judge in heaven. But no, today’s Christians would not find that amazing at all.

So…. where’s the surprise? Why, it would be a surprise to see Roman Catholics in heaven, right? or… Hindu’s, right? That’s what this phrase means. I’ve heard it before, and despise it.

Another phrase I hear a lot is, “I believe everyone that truly loves God will go to heaven.” Is that what the Bible says?

“Unless you truly, sincerely love God, ye will in no wise enter into the kingdom of God?” No, it says “Ye must be born again.”

Guess what this is? You guessed it – Universalism.

Try this… when some worldly person who thinks overall they’re a good person besides their blasphemous, lying, cheating, stealing adulterous nature tells you they’re pretty sure they’ll go to heaven, try this…

“The Bible tells us something different. It says in Isaiah, “6 But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away. Isaiah 64:6 (KJV)”

Don’t lie to them! EXPLAIN it doesn’t matter what we do – our very sin nature enough is enough to cast ourselves into hell. You know what this is, right? Witnessing! The LORD just gave you a primo opportunity to share the Gospel, and here you are, willing to let them go into Hell forever just because you’re worried about offending them for a day! Worry rather about offending them for eternity!

You just look at everything with love, seeing the world through pure eyes. That’s great – the Bible says, “To the pure, all things are pure (Titus 1:15a). But the Bible also says,

12 There is a generation that are pure in their own eyes, and yet is not washed from their filthiness. Proverbs 30:12 (KJV)

Here’s the bad news – there’s a lot of this people who are going to go to Hell. The numbers are staggering. I’ve repeated them time and again. I said in a sermon once the number of people who went into Hell, going from the moment of my first seminary class to the graduation moment. It’s millions of people. It’s staggering.

Buddhists are going to go to Hell. They don’t believe in a god. Shinto practitioners are going to go to Hell. They believe in many gods. Hindus are going to Hell. They have so many gods and goddesses, that you can say, “Well, I believe they truly love God!” Okay, sure… which one? They kind of have a lot of them. None of them are the God of the bible, so, in a way, by your own mouth are they condemned! WITNESS TO THEM!!!

I mean, we’ve all heard the response from Penn Gillette, the magician to Ray Comfort – “If you really believe in a Hell, then you should be running from person to person trying to warn them!” Comfort’s answer was.. “I am!”

Are you???

Okay, let’s deal with my people. If I died, before I was born again, would I have gone to heaven? Look me in the eyes and tell me. Tell me you really believe I would have gone to heaven. I’ll tell you that you are wrong. If I had died before I’d become born again, I would have been in Hell for 8 years now, suffering in agony. And guess what? just a drop in the bucket… eight years is nothing. I’d still be there a billion years from now.

God is merciful. God is loving. God came to earth and died so I did not have to. God personally paid the price for me, so I could go into heaven.

Tell people about that, before you get to heaven and find out that all those people you misinformed are cursing your name for all eternity as they writhe in torment.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

1 thought on “Phrases Christians Use I Absolutely Hate!”

Your thoughts are welcome!

