The Emergent Church Pt. 9


“It’s not a sin to change your beliefs.”

I read this blog post back in 2013, and I’d meant obviously to address this. It was a poorly slanted article, and the author used emotionally laden buzzwords to slant readers’ opinions towards his Emergent liberal bent.

I’m guessing it was his attempt to be relevant.

I’m not going to discuss the author or the blog, because I have no way of knowing if he ever got saved – that’s right, I said got saved – and repented of his thoughts and beliefs.

Early on in the post, he makes the statement:

Indoctrination is preferred over critical thinking, certainty is favored over doubt, and we expect our leaders to offer black-and-white answers. A change of theology is viewed as weakness, poor exegesis, and a sign of insecurity. “If they change their views now, how can I believe anything they say in the future?

Indoctrination is preferred over critical thinking, he says. If you read John 3:16, and ask me what it means, and I repeat it word for word, and you agree with me that it means exactly what it says… how is this indoctrination?

I’ve said it many times… the Bible says what it means.

Theologies are often considered too “valuable,” “right,” and “holy” to change or question.

um… well if by that you mean, the literal interpretation of John 3:16 cannot be changed – uh, yeah, you’re right! See, GOD wrote it, not me. I have no right to change the Bible, to say, “Well, I don’t like that!!!” and insist that we reject or cut out those verses. Certainly, that’s what Wescott and Hort did.

If I change my mind about the atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ, that does not mean I’m weak – it means I am a heretic. Heresy is to say and teach something other than what the Bible teaches. If I decide that I’m right and the Bible is wrong then… I’m wrong. I’m a man. I make mistakes.

God is not a man. God makes no mistakes. God wrote the Bible. If you question that, or if you decide that society’s issues and being politically correct over-rules God, then… you can explain that at the Great White Throne.

Additionally, Christian communities often reinforce the idea that any variations from sanctioned teachings about God are dangerous and destructive. If pastors change their views — they’re forced to resign. If professors sway beyond a college’s strict theological statement — they’re fired.

As they should be. What does the Bible teach us to do when a pastor denies the deity of Christ?

9 Whosoever transgresseth, and abideth not in the doctrine of Christ, hath not God. He that abideth in the doctrine of Christ, he hath both the Father and the Son. 10 If there come any unto you, and bring not this doctrine, receive him not into your house, neither bid him God speed: 11 For he that biddeth him God speed is partaker of his evil deeds. 2 John 1:9-11 (KJV)

17 Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them. 18 For they that are such serve not our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly; and by good words and fair speeches deceive the hearts of the simple. Romans 16:17-18 (KJV)

A pastor that questions the Virgin Birth should be fired or asked to resign. You’re denying the deity of Christ if you do. And we shouldn’t read their works, books, or quote them from the pulpit. Should I allow them to continue?

It is a sin to change your beliefs, if they do not line up with the word of God.

But theology — our study and beliefs about God — should be a natural process involving change instead of avoiding it. Our God is too big and too wonderful to completely understand by the time we graduate high school, or college, or get married, or have children, or retire.

What are you talking about??? It’s pretty simple. God revealed Himself in this world as Jesus Christ. He gave us His words in the Bible.

You make the statement that our theology should naturally involve change. And you give no reason for your heresy. Why should I suddenly decide that God is different from the way He’s presented Himself in His word???

Oh, yes – it’s the “You put your God in a box” theology. Here’s my answer to that – I stand upon the unchanging word of God. Jesus Christ, yesterday, today, tomorrow, forever world without end Amen!

I’ve experienced God by reading my Bible. I see a loving, forgiving God. But He also has a vengeful side, and He explains that in His word.

19 And when the LORD saw it, he abhorred them, because of the provoking of his sons, and of his daughters. 20 And he said, I will hide my face from them, I will see what their end shall be: for they are a very froward generation, children in whom is no faith. 21 They have moved me to jealousy with that which is not God; they have provoked me to anger with their vanities: and I will move them to jealousy with those which are not a people; I will provoke them to anger with a foolish nation. 22 For a fire is kindled in mine anger, and shall burn unto the lowest hell, and shall consume the earth with her increase, and set on fire the foundations of the mountains. 23 I will heap mischiefs upon them; I will spend mine arrows upon them. 24 They shall be burnt with hunger, and devoured with burning heat, and with bitter destruction: I will also send the teeth of beasts upon them, with the poison of serpents of the dust. 25 The sword without, and terror within, shall destroy both the young man and the virgin, the suckling also with the man of gray hairs. Deuteronomy 32:19-25 (KJV)

God offers you everything. God offers it freely! And to think, He came and suffered, and poured out His own sweat, blood, tears. He suffered for us. If you despise that, His wrath will fall upon you at the Great White Throne Judgment.

This article I’m talking about was not just written by some Emergent guy, one of those willowy guys with the rooster comb haircut and the little square glasses… this was written by a Moody Bible College graduate.

He knows better. But he’s a wolf in Sheeps clothing, or was at the time of this writing. If he is of the same opinions still, and is occupying a pulpit, his congregation needs to do the very thing the Bible commands us to do… mark him and avoid him. Separate from him. Do not even bid him God speed.

I pray he’s repented. I pray he’s gotten saved, because no pastor from God could write these things. I really pray he puts a comment on here, saying “I wrote those words two years ago, and I truly repent of them. I wish I’d never written them. I’ve gotten right with God since then.”

Because the alternative is too horrible to contemplate.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

1 thought on “The Emergent Church Pt. 9”

Your thoughts are welcome!

