The Emergent Church pt. 7


Let’s turn to the doctrines of the Emergent. They claim a bias against “Dogma” when it comes from the Bible, but when it comes from Emergent teachings, suddenly it’s doctrine.

The two words mean the same.

I’ve addressed the attitude before. “Doctrine divies” They cry. “Let’s get rid of Doctrine!”

Um… no. Let’s translate that into English, and see what it is you’re really saying. “Teaching Divides! Let’s get rid of teaching!”

That’s really… silly.

What it is, is that young people are really good tape recorders. They hear something, they parrot it without understanding. A Pastor’s sermon can be completely in line with the Bible, profound and full of truth. THe recording machine hears it, preserves it for eternity, but does not comprehend it – just preserving it.

I’ve noticed that young people are like that. Good mercy, I know I was very much the exception. I believed the nonsense I spouted when I was young, and I had facts, figures… boy, I’ll betcha I really annoyed quite a few persons.

Well, some things don’t change, I guess!

It reminds me of Marilyn Manson fans (remember them?) They used to boldly say that Manson was giving values the same way Christianity was. I challenged one to explain that, and he got a blank look on his face. I then challenged him to tell me what Christian values Manson was teaching. He looked embarassed, and I quit picking on him. Really, it was mean of me, and I regret doing it.

Here’s the truth: The phrase sounded good, he kind of understood what it meant – he just couldn’t see how it applied, but it sounded right. So he repeated it.

Well, today, we have young people, under the spell of Brian McLaren and Rob Bell, which is a far sight worse than Brian Warner (Marylin Manson) ever was.

And they’re doing the same thing, repeating that which they’ve heard, because it sounds right. They don’t see how it applies, but it just sounds right!

So… what passes for doctrine among the Emergent?

Well… they don’t have doctrine. But they advocate a lot of idolatrous things. Like praying to icons. Lighting candles. Incense. Services that roughly are a lot of shuffling around from one place to another.

that’s some emergent church services. Others are more contemporary, featuring loud music.

okay, great. What’s the doctrinal basis for doing this?

“We don’t know. We don’t think we’ve got the Gospel right yet.”

But you know that pacing mazes, silent contemplation, lighting candles to icons and burning incense are all right? You must, because you do them. So… how do you justify that from the Bible? If you’re not sure you have the Gospel right yet…. what are you doing?

THe basis of a church of the Lord Jesus Christ is the Gospel. You know, 1 Cor. 15…

1 Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand; 2 By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain. 3 For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; 4 And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures: 5 And that he was seen of Cephas, then of the twelve: 6 After that, he was seen of above five hundred brethren at once; of whom the greater part remain unto this present, but some are fallen asleep. 7 After that, he was seen of James; then of all the apostles. 8 And last of all he was seen of me also, as of one born out of due time. 9 For I am the least of the apostles, that am not meet to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. 10 But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me. 11 Therefore whether it were I or they, so we preach, and so ye believed. 1 Corinthians 15:1-11 (KJV)

Here’s the Gospel. Let’s see if we have it right…

  • Christ died for our sins
  • according to the scriptures (prophesy written in the Scriptures)
  • He was buried
  • Rose again the third day

Okay, please enlighten me! What part did I get wrong?

“uh….”

Okay, I didn’t get it wrong then. But it SOUNDED right to you. You can’t really understand it or explain it, but it just sounded right to you, so you believe it FERVENTLY and believe it, right?

Well… it’s not. You’ve been misled. You’ve been completely bamboozled, flim-flammed, taken down the primrose path. You need to STOP, read the Bible for yourself. If you don’t think you’ve got the Gospel completely right yet, and you want to prove me wrong, get Wordsearch basic (it’s free) and… make sure you spend one good year in study of the King James Bible. Read my pages again on how to study the Bible. I just did some, and I’m about to do some more.

Work on that.

Let me know a year from now how I don’t have the Gospel right, and what it really is.

Prove me wrong.

Am I trying to get you saved? Absolutely.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

Your thoughts are welcome!

