Messianic Judaism Answered 54 – Is Jesus God?


This is apparently an area where we could say, “Two Messianic Jews, three opinions.” Very often it’s not the Jews who come to faith in Christ who have a problem with this – it’s the Gentiles who have adopted a Jewish identity, who tells their families, “I’m Jewish now” and takes on Hebrew names, dropping Barbara for Batya, Linda becomes Yaffa, Joel becomes Yoel, Marky Mark becomes “Yitzchaq, etc.

And their family watches and wonders, “Should I be worried about this?”

uh… I would.

Okay, so, the words written here will not apply to all Messianics. MANY have no problem with the Deity of Christ. But it becomes really obvious that the more Jewish your identity becomes, the more and more and more you have trouble believing in the Deity of Jesus Christ.

Worry no more. I can explain it. And… I’m really not going to explain anything new, anything you didn’t already know.

1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. John 1:1 (KJV)

okay, let’s get this straight right off the bat. If you have not studied Aramaic in an academic setting, spare me all your interpretations of Memra’. There’s a lot of speculation about the meaning of the word Memra’ and what it boils down to is… “I don’t believe Jesus Christ is God, and here’s my excuse. I’m going to baffle you with obscure wording until you leave me alone.”

Certainly Avi Ben Mordecai is such a person, speculating about the meaning of Memra’. All I’m going to say is, the same kind of speculation goes on from people who don’t know Greek, don’t understand how it works, and try to tell me fanciful things based on their lack of understanding, when I took the class for a year, did my homework, studied my flashcards, and passed all my tests. Trust me when I say what I had was bare minimum, and does not qualify me as an expert. If I’m not an expert and I had to pass 5 tests, then you aren’t one either.

The citing of Aramaic (when you haven’t studied it) to support your argument is a classic case of one of Henry Thouless’ 31 Examples of Faulty Thinking, “Use of technical jargon”. I haven’t referred to that book in over a year and a half, so longtime readers should admire my restraint…

58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am. John 8:58 (KJV)

14 And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you. Exodus 3:14 (KJV)

It’s not hard to understand.

18 Therefore the Jews sought the more to kill him, because he not only had broken the sabbath, but said also that God was his Father, making himself equal with God. John 5:18 (KJV)

24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins. John 8:24 (KJV)

If you understand that Jesus Christ was pre-existent, that He is Lord, that He is He, that He is equal with God… behold, you’re getting to understand…

…that Jesus Christ is obviously God. In Human flesh.

“I don’t understand it! It’s too hard to understand!!!”

So… you can perfectly understand God? Just because you don’t understand something doesn’t mean it isn’t so!

What’s even more incomprehensible is how people try to do textual juggling to try to justify the claim they want for some reason to make… that Jesus Christ is “just some guy who was really good.”

No, the Bible makes that clear. “If you believe not that I am He, ye shall die in your sins.”

Unless you believe he’s just some cool dude who kept the law perfectly, you’ll die in your sins??? Nope. The text just can’t read that way.

If you believe not that Jesus Christ is God, one third of the Trinity, God in Human Flesh, Eternally the Son of God… ye will die in your sins.

Okay, that seems to make more sense if you compare John 8:24 with John 1:1, John 5:18, and John 8:58.

There’s a lot of verses I could cite. And since I’m sure some Messianic will come across this page sooner or later, I’m sure in the comment section I’ll have to finally list all of them.

Trust me when I say I posted all of them in the Jehovah’s Witness section.

Jesus Christ is God in human flesh, the Son of God. This cannot be used to mean some cool torah observant guy who was really frum and God as a reward made him become God. That’s impossible, and doesn’t conform to the Psalms, to Isaiah, etc.

Try this… read your Bible. Believe what it says. Thanks.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???