Proofs of Christianity 1


Well, its time I talked about the proofs for Christianity.

There’s a lot of them. The proofs FOR Christianity are very often are not explored, until after you’re one!

That’s the opposite of the way it works, really. I know I was convinced by Christianity, but I’m not the only one convinced in this way. Josh McDowell started out in college trying to disprove Christianity. He was antagonistic to it, decided he was going to disprove it, and ended up convinced.

I know that when I looked at the evidences, I wanted to believe in other religions. I at the time I was thinking of leaving Judaism was looking into a couple of different religions. I wanted to find what was the best religion for me. I had been raised an Atheist, but I had been forced to acknowledge the existence of God. I’d tried getting involved with the faith of my fathers in Judaism, and had left, dissatisfied.

What was nagging me, as I was trying to decide between Shinto and Native American religion, was the really uncomfortable feeling that I shouldn’t be looking for what I liked – I should be looking for what was right.

The standard thought process of thought is, “I like this religion because it teaches…” etc.

Christianity teaches Jesus Christ is the only way to Heaven.

Other religions teach their founder was a great teacher, or had the only truth, or found the way to enlightenment…

Christianity teaches Jesus Christ was and is wholly God and wholly man.

When I looked at religions, I also looked at them in light of history. Any religion that came out thousands of years after another claiming the first one had been wrong – I pretty much dismissed. Let’s look at it logically – I can’t tell you that I have the right hundreds of years later to change the life story of Frederick The Great – there’s been many books already written on it.

So if you formulated a religion over a thousand years after Christianity saying Christianity had it wrong, I dismissed it on the same grounds. That ruled out a few. I was very impressed by the writings of one religion, as they had a great and poetic way of talking about God. But you can be sincere, and sincerely wrong.

I wanted proof. As I looked into all of them, Christianity – which I did not want to BELIEVE in – kept becoming more and more apparent was the truth.

There’s this Jesus Christ guy. He keeps jumping out there as being pivotal. You either have to completely ignore Jesus…

or you have to face His claims.

By the time I was more than a couple of months into my investigations into religion, I was really getting stuck on something – Jesus Christ. He either was who He said He was, or He was not. If He is not, then no biggie. Disregard. Go back into looking into which one suits your fancy. “Well, I like the taste of chocolate ice cream, so…”

But IF Jesus Christ is who He said He is… I was in big trouble. I had ignored Him. I had rejected Him. I was without atonement.

I’m very often dumbfounded by people like Edgar Cayce who could have read through the Bible every year and not understood what it says! I have to assume he was completely incapable of believing, or that the story of him reading his Bible through every year is false.

Because you simply can’t read John 14:4 and not understand it.

6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. John 14:6 (KJV)

What does that mean? I don’t know about you, but to me it means no man cometh to the Father but by Jesus Christ. Everyone else get that? Pretty simple.

Jesus Christ was saying He is the only way to get to heaven.

3 Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God. John 3:3 (KJV)

What does that mean? Unless you’re born again, you’re not going to heaven.

If you’re not going to heaven, you’re going to Hell. Now a lot of religions, from all over the world, teach the existence of a Hell. South America, China, Japan, all over the Middle East, etc. That points to there being a subconscious worldwide awareness of Hell. It’s one of those beliefs that we can pretty much assume is a Universal constant. You can’t just say the idea of Hell originated with Christianity to scare people into salvation.

And when I went to bed at night, there was an awareness I had in my soul. i was uncomfortably aware my search for a religion was related to the awareness of Hell, and the need for Salvation.

At that moment when you’re about to fall asleep, there’s a moment your mind suddenly seems to drop your viewpoints, your privately held beliefs. You KNOW there is a Hell, you KNOW you need salvation, and subconsciously you know the only one who can save you is Jesus Christ.

There you go.

As we go along, I’ll show what things proved it to me. Let me tell you about one person who knows the complete truth, absolutely 100% knows the truth.

The Devil.

Yup, he absolutely KNOWS Christianity is the truth. Absolutely knows it’s the truth, no questions.

Just KNOWING the truth is only half the battle.

If you’re floating at sea, and a ship comes by, you know that is your hope, your chance to be saved. But if you don’t get in the boat, you’re going to drown.

GET IN THE BOAT! You have to DO SOMETHING about it, once you get the knowledge. You have to transfer it from your brain (knowledge) to your heart (faith)… and then ACT ON IT! Repent. Ask the Lord to forgive you. Ask Him to save you. And then, you have to trust Him to save you.

We’ll start tomorrow.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???