Rationalists


There’s a big move today of what’s called Rationalists. A Rationalist is one of those who attempt to claim “we need to re-interpret our Bible” or “we need to re-imagine Christianity”.

Re-imagine.

The word first implies its first “imagined.”

Same with “re-inventing”.

A lot of these people tried to pass the title off as “reconstructionism”, but they ran smack dab in the middle of the other people that called themselves “Reconstructionists”.

With my usual lack of tact, let me see if I can come up with some different terms for the “re-inventers” and “re-imaginers”.

Let’s call you “rationalists”. Let’s call you “de-mytholizers”. Let’s call you, let’s see, what’s a good term that involves the name of Christ? Oh, yes, I’ve got it – “Christ denier.”

“wait! I never denied Christ!”

Well, you claim, very subtly, without honestly coming out and saying it, that you think Jesus Christ is just a good moral teacher. You deny a six literal days of creation. You deny Jonah and the whale. Odd that Christ did not! So you’re either implying He was wrong or that the Bible is wrong.

If you deny Jesus Christ is God, one third of the Trinity, then you are vastly deluded. You’re a Christ denier.

Oddly enough, this was a huge problem in the 1880’s. This was a huge problem in the 1930’s. Last night I was reading a book written by Wilbur Smith on just this issue, and it was a huge issue in those days too.

I think today they’ve just learned to keep their mouths shut!

Earlier this year, we saw a Bible college realize the wording of their statement of faith was weak, so they told the faculty they’d be re-doing it to state more strongly a belief in Adam and Eve, the garden of Eden, the fall, and a literal six 24-hour day Creation, with no gap. I’d have encouraged them myself, congratulated them, and offered help.

yet, to a man, all the instructors rebelled! They complained that was tantamount to telling them they could not teach intelligent and rational theories. The implication was, “you’re demanding that we not be able to teach!”

My response: “Not at all. This is a Bible College, and you are all claiming to be professing Christians. If you have an integrity issue and have been claiming to be something you’re not, then I’m sorry – you’re fired. Oh, and I’ll be praying for you.”

The issue is, they wanted to teach evolution. These are men that claim they are Christian??? Oh, trust me, if I was hired at that Bible College, I’d be GLAD to teach Evolution… Mwahahahaha!!! And I think the Faculty of the Bible college would be very pleased with how I approached the issue, because I’d be burying it in the minds of the students.

Bottom line – Many parents have sent their children to secular colleges, only to see so called professing Christians deny Christ and walk away after only a few months. So parents are choosing a more rational alternative, and choosing to send their children to Christian universities and Bible Colleges, in hopes that they will at least grow in their faith, and not deny Christ and walk away.

The LAST thing Christian parents need is for unsaved men to lie and pretend they’re Christians, take up valuable positions in a Christian University that could be given to Godly men to teach – and have their children, whom they thought were safe, end up… denying Christ and walking away.

Am I fearing too much? No – because much of the student body rose up to protest as well.

My response: “Very well. You’re expelled. I’m sure that you’ll do just fine among the other unSaved at another institution. Oh, and I’ll be praying for you, because you’re obviously not saved, and if you die tomorrow, you’re going to spend eternity burning in Hell.”

If you do not literally believe the Bible, if you deny the existence of Hell, if you deny that Jesus Christ rose physically from the grave on the third day, if you deny that Jesus Christ is God, one third of the Trinity, you need to not call yourself a Christian. Christians believe these things.

You need to not be teaching at a Christian University or College. That’s a job for Christians. Hey, I’d LOVE a job at a Christian University, teaching! But if I didn’t believe the Bible, I wouldn’t be able to in good conscience take the job.

I guess lack of integrity goes along with being a grievous wolf, a false teacher, a false apostle, a wolf in sheep’s clothing, a pastor who abandons his flock.

I know I’m using very strong language, but I feel very strongly about this issue. we are hemmed in and beset on all sides. Most Christians face a daily assault on their faith. I would not be surprised to find out one of the things we need is healing in Heaven to remove the wounds placed on us by living in this world!

The last thing we need is bible denying men being allowed to teach in our colleges. Go get a job in a worldly college. Couldn’t get one? I’m not surprised. Does it have anything to do with the fact you’re a liar?

Here’s a newsflash – if I had college age children, I’d want to go to a Christian college and make sure they were safe. I’d be asking the professors, “Are you a professor or a possessor? Do you believe in the deity of Jesus Christ as expressed in the Bible, especially in 1 Timothy 3:16? Do you believe in a literal, 24 hour day, six day creation?”

If even one of them answered me, “Well, I believe…” I’d cut him off. “That’s a yes or no question, sir.” If I couldn’t get “Yes” without equivocating, my children would not be going there.

100 years ago, the Presbyterian church in America (before all the schizms and splits) faced this same crisis when they began investigating, and found that an overwhelming majority of their seminary graduates did not believe in the deity of Christ, We’re talking around 86% or so. They faced a crisis, and had to make a choice. Remove their license to preach, or try damage control, and redo things with the next bunch? They chose the latter. Well, the PC split into several factions, and now the statistics are… unchanged. Wrong choice.

I hope that the Baptists will be smarter. Throw the baby out with the bathwater. Fire them. Publicly make a statement naming names. They’ll probably take you to court and win defamation lawsuits, but suffer it. Make an appeal beforehand to Christians around the world to assist financially. DON’T LET THESE GRIEVOUS WOLVES GET JOBS ELSEWHERE TEACHING CHRISTIAN YOUTH!

Pastors have to face a grilling 6 hour ordeal before ordination. College professors should be forced to undergo the same careful examination. And it’s no cure, because for every Marc Monte we get in a Baptist pulpit, we end up with a dozen Mark Driscolls. for every David Cloud, there’s a hundred Rick Warrens.

God please help us!

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???