Rock of Offense


The big problem with apologists is this –

we’re often like an engine, ready to pull a heavy load. When there’s no load there, the engine revs VERY highly, and can break down.

Until God places me over a congregation, it’s as if I just FESTER to prove Christianity to everyone!

Alas, in the United States, it’s becoming increasingly more illegal to do so (despite the Constitution of the United States, which specifically orders Congress not to pass laws infringing upon the right to say whatever I want).

Let me first address an issue.

Some Atheists are often aggrieved if I attempt to share the gospel. They claim they are offended.

OK, I’ll bite. How can you claim to be offended by something you don’t believe exists?

Some think Jesus Christ is dead and gone. Some think I’m a fool to believe in Him. That’s fine. You have absolutely EVERY right to be think that way. However, please consider the fact that you possibly may be sincerely wrong and go to Hell forever. I on the other hand… I am, out of concern for you, trying to get you saved. Yes. I admit it. I don’t want to see you go to Hell.

But if I talk to you about Jesus Christ, how can that possibly offend you?

A couple of the atheists that have come to this blog have been on the attack, complete with ad hominem attacks. A couple have been downright nice to deal with, and what I’m writing about here is most certainly not aimed at them, nor is about them. I enjoyed my exchanges with Atomic Mutant, AllAlt, and there was a very nice guy who’s blogger name escapes me, but was something like “formerChristian”. Sorry – I get bad with names.

now let me flip an argument upside down.

Could it be you are offended because you DO believe what I’m saying, but you just don’t want to have to admit it to yourself?

I mention Hell, and you get angry. Why? I want you to think about that for a minute, very seriously. I didn’t bat an eye when you talked about Lemuria! Want my opinion on where Atlantis is? Crete. You’re free to disagree with me, because on things I haven’t studied, I reserve the right to be wrong.

I mention Jesus Christ, and you get offended. I’m hard pressed to think of anyone who I believe died that the very mention of their name makes me angry.

New Agers get offended, but hey – they have their OWN Jesus! A long hair hippie in a robe and sandals! And he spouts Tibetan philosophy, according to them. So if you’ve got a counterfeit Jesus, why should it offend you?

Because, very possibly, deep down inside… you believe me.

Here’s some advice. Get saved. Repent. Time is running out.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

5 thoughts on “Rock of Offense”

  1. okay, I tried a re-write. Sorry, I had a headache and wasn’t feeling a hundred percent when I first wrote it. One of the big flaws in my personality is the tendency to be sarcastic and a little mean, and it’s taking me years to try to change that. I apologize.

    Like

Comments are closed.