Nominal Christianity


I know I’ve been poking a lot at my Baptist brethren, trying to wake them out of their sound slumber. I mean, the world has noticed the drool on your collars. WAKE UP!

But let’s talk about nominal Christianity for a minute.

What’s the most important question on earth?

“Am I saved?”

Re-reading Josh McDowell’s “Evidence that demands a verdict”, I was struck by his blunt answers to the thousands of people he’s met who are of other religions. “Many Buddhists are more devout in their religion than Christians.” McDowell’s answer – “That may be. But Christians are saved.”

Wow.

I wonder if Josh McDowell has ever seen my blog? Probably not. With responses like that, I’d think he’d read my equivocating, and grumble, “not blunt enough.”

Anyway.

There’s millions of people in the Church of England.

Are you saved? Have you been born again? Getting your head sprinkled as a baby is not getting saved. Even getting Biblically baptized is not being saved. The question is – did you have a moment of recognizing you are a sinner? That you are bound for Hell for all eternity unless someone saves you? That you desperately need someone to atone for your sins? That only Jesus Christ can save you? Have you had a moment where you bowed your head and cried out, “Be merciful to me, a sinner!”

If you have not – you’re not saved. And if you died ten minutes from now, you’d begin an eternity in Hell so horrific I dread to describe it, which I’ve endeavored to do at least twice on this blog.

There’s a lot of people in the Episcopal church. Are you saved? Have you been born again?

What about the Lutheran Church? I’ve met some very worldly Lutherans. Literally, these people are completely unfamiliar with the writings of Luthor (which is probably good… he had some good stuff, but he also talked a load of rubbish in regards to the will of man). Read your Bible. Are you saved? Have you been born again?

There’s a lot of Methodists. Out of all the people I work with, most said they went to Methodist churches. And none of them seem to have a testimony. Very worldly, and do not seem to have ANYTHING resembling the mind of Christ. They are unconcerned with the Bible, with salvation, and the thought that 108 people die every hour usually elicits a comment of, “Well, they’re in heaven, aren’t they?”

No, statistics show that out of the 108 people that die an hour, usually only 2 are saved statistically.

That’s horrific. When I first became aware of that statistic, I almost went into a panic. That probably means statistically, six of my brethren of the flesh awoke in Hell as well.

Quit with the two covenant teachings. We’d ALL like to believe the Jews go automatically to heaven. But that’s not what the Bible teaches. It grieves me to think that the Rebbe may not be in heaven. I used to have a picture of him hanging on my wall, like all Chassids did. And there was a lot of cryptic comments the Rebbe made about “The messiah has already come” that give me hope. His followers all believe he was claiming to be Moshiakh – that may be.

But was he saved?

Are you saved?

If you have NEVER had a born again experience, you are not going to heaven. There was a Baptist theologian who questioned, “why do we speak of salvation as if it is a one time event?”

Well, good to know that you don’t have to know your Bible to become a Baptist theologian! We speak of it because the Bible does. We speak of salvation being a one-time event because it IS.

I think the man who said that passed away last year. He obviously was not saved when he made that comment. I sincerely hope he DID get saved before his death. Because I’m horrified that there are people in the flames, screaming, “but I’m a Baptist!!!!”

And they’re suffering right next to the people who are screaming, “But I’m a Methodist!” “Lutheran!” “Episcopal!” “Presbyterian!” “Church of Christ!”

3 Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God. John 3:3 (KJV)

18 He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God. 19 And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. 20 For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved. 21 But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God. John 3:18-21 (KJV)

Please. I beg you. Get saved.

Here’s the test… most of you who are saved will read these words, and bow their heads, and say a quick prayer, making sure they are saved by repenting of sins, and asking the Lord to save them. Can’t hurt. At the most, it’s a re-dedication. Or a memorial of the moment you did get saved.

But if you cannot recall a time you were saved… or if you’re saved but just can’t seem to make sense of that Bible! Wow, that book is confusing!!!…

I suggest you may not be saved at all.

Get saved.

23 For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God; Romans 3:23 (KJV)

23 For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. Romans 6:23 (KJV)

9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. 10 For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. 11 For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed. Romans 10:9-11 (KJV)

Get saved.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

1 thought on “Nominal Christianity”

Comments are closed.