Romans 7


1 Know ye not, brethren, (for I speak to them that know the law,) how that the law hath dominion over a man as long as he liveth? 2 For the woman which hath an husband is bound by the law to her husband so long as he liveth; but if the husband be dead, she is loosed from the law of her husband. 3 So then if, while her husband liveth, she be married to another man, she shall be called an adulteress: but if her husband be dead, she is free from that law; so that she is no adulteress, though she be married to another man. 4 Wherefore, my brethren, ye also are become dead to the law by the body of Christ; that ye should be married to another, even to him who is raised from the dead, that we should bring forth fruit unto God. 5 For when we were in the flesh, the motions of sins, which were by the law, did work in our members to bring forth fruit unto death. 6 But now we are delivered from the law, that being dead wherein we were held; that we should serve in newness of spirit, and not in the oldness of the letter. 7 What shall we say then? Is the law sin? God forbid. Nay, I had not known sin, but by the law: for I had not known lust, except the law had said, Thou shalt not covet. 8 But sin, taking occasion by the commandment, wrought in me all manner of concupiscence. For without the law sin was dead. 9 For I was alive without the law once: but when the commandment came, sin revived, and I died. 10 And the commandment, which was ordained to life, I found to be unto death. 11 For sin, taking occasion by the commandment, deceived me, and by it slew me. 12 Wherefore the law is holy, and the commandment holy, and just, and good. 13 Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid. But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful. 14 For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. 15 For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. 16 If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. 17 Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. 18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. 19 For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. 20 Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. 21 I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. 22 For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: 23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. 24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? 25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin. Romans 7:1-25 (KJV)

Most commonly used word (not counting pronouns and conjunctions): “I” and “Law”

Shortest Verse (12 words) Rom 7:22, For I delight in the law of God after the inward man:

Longest Verse (44 words) Rom 7:3, So then if, while her husband liveth, she be married to another man, she shall be called an adulteress: but if her husband be dead, she is free from that law; so that she is no adulteress, though she be married to another man.

Middle Verse(s) (of 25 verses) Rom 7:13, Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid. But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful.

Middle Five Words (of 608 words) [‘commandment, deceived me, and by’] Rom 7:11, For sin, taking occasion by the [commandment, deceived me, and by] it slew me.

 

I know I’ve covered this recently, but this is the argument of the widow. It explains one of the biggest errors in soteriology, the study of how to be saved. All false religions and cults emphasize salvation by works. It’s a broken argument.

How many works must you do? Some religions leave it at, “there must be more good works than bad.” Okay… but what if the good works were “drop a penny into the charity box”? 10,000 pennies don’t add up to very much – $100. And what if the only bad deed was mass murder? Okay, there has to be a sliding scale then.

So, you’ve got to have more important good works than bad deeds.

Well, who decides what’s good and bad? And if your hands are tainted, doesn’t that corrupt the good deeds?

And how does God see it? God sees it so bad that ONE SIN leads you to Hell. We have to remember the Holiness of God almighty, something downplayedd by every religion and cult on Earth. God is so holy, so majestic, so amazing, so terrible in might and power, that sin is something He cannot even look upon.

13 Thou art of purer eyes than to behold evil, and canst not look on iniquity: wherefore lookest thou upon them that deal treacherously, and holdest thy tongue when the wicked devoureth the man that is more righteous than he? Habakkuk 1:13 (KJV)

So if God is so Holy, He cannot even LOOK on sin, unless we are purified, we cannot enter heaven. Sin is a blasphemy to God, so great a blasphemy that anyone who commits sin cannot poosibly enter Heaven.

This is the point of the last few chapters of Romans. We examined how God , the second person of the Trinity came personally to live in a human body, keep the law perfectly, and then pay our penalty for us, dying on the cross.

We saw how Abraham was saved by faith, believing God. Now we understand that any who repent of their sins and call upon God in desperation to be saved will indeed be saved, that prayer honored, and the person saved by their saving faith in Jesus Christ.

Now that we are saved, we are buried with Him in death, raised to walk in the newness of life.

So, you died, were buried, and raised from the dead along with Christ. Any demands upon you while you were alive ceased when you died.

Should you keep the law? nope. You DIED to sin and death. If you are dead, then those demands ceased, just as a wife’s status changes from “married” to “single” upon the death of her husband. This is Paul’s argument, not mine. If you don’t like it, go argue with God. He put the words in Paul’s mouth.

The purpose of the Law is to reveal sin. The Law is holy, just and good. But it exposese sin. Not only sin, but what Jews refer to as the Yetzer Hara, the inclination to sin (“evil inclination” is the most literal rendering).

Paul explains this inverses 14-15. These are probably verses that every Christian should memorize, as they wrestle with the issues of sins that still torment us.

14 For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. 15 For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. Romans 7:14-15 (KJV)

Are you still sinning as a Christian? Why, I thougt you were saved! Christians don’t sin, my friend!”

Ifg anyone says this to you, they’ve never read Romans. Paul describes the issues of besetting sins, the ones we are most prone to and will struggle with as long as we are still alive on this world.

The entire chapter is summed up in this verse: 25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin. Romans 7:25 (KJV)

You’re going to struggle with sin your entire life. However, you’ve been saved from sin, and its penalties. The issue is, how well will you resist it? Poorly. But God wants you to try, that you may be rewarded. We don’t know what actions merit rewards (well, none of them really – God chooses to give us rewards, but we don’t know what, when, how much…).

Be reassured. Aim for a life without sin, but understand you’re going to stumble. Repent. move on. Don’t worry, you can’t lose your salvation. If it were possible, everyone would have lost it by the end of the first day of their salvation! It’s not yours to lose.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???