Voting So Far


Well, to my surprise, the voting so far has shown that most of you want expositional teaching (verse by verse) of the bible. It’s kind of surprising to me, since most of my efforts have been to responding to the challenges of cults and atheism.

It’s really simple to understand my motivation. I am commanded to preach the Gospel. Not too hard to understand, right? Also to feed the Lord’s sheep. Okay! No problem, I enjoy that!

To do that, I have to be all things to all men. What does that mean? No, that doesn’t mean Paul hides his am sandwich behind his back when he sees another Jew – that’s a silly statement, but then again, Ray Comfort uses a lot of humor, and I think it’s merely the setup for a joke. That teaching is actually contained in “not putting a stumblingblock before the blind.”

It means I have to communicate in the manner others do. When talking to a Mormon, I have to talk, well, in their language. And I have to earnestly contend for the faith.

There’s an apologetics streak in me a mile wide and a mile deep. I see people who obviously have the Gospel wrong, and something in me says, “fix that. They’re going to go to Hell if you don’t.”

So, between that exceptionally strong urge and the need to rant sometimes over an attitude among many Christians I can only describe as “sleepwalking”, I started a blog on my laptop. Unfortunately, nobody was listening except me, so after a couple of years, I took it live onto wordpress, last August. Yup, I’ve been online with it for only 10 months or so.

“That I might save some” could have been the title of this blog. Then again, “ramblings of a coffee drinker” could have been, if I were the least bit artsy. Which I’m not, really.

I put the poll online because I was curious – were people wanting to read strong teachings, and just wading through my apologetics to get to it? The answers surprised me, because my primary focus – apologetics – has actually received zero votes so far!

Is it that Pastors are not giving strong teachings? Who do we blame for this? Well, in the SBC, the deacons.

Huh?

Yup. Somehow, the deacons became the ruling elite that run the SBC. And I’ve found that Pastors have to (in some churches) actually run drafts of their sermons by the deacon board for approval.

Uh… Biblically, the Pastor of the local church is the undershepherd. He is responsible for the congregation. How is that going to work on Judgment Day? “Lord, I wanted to preach as you designed me to, but the Deacon board wouldn’t let me.”

Well, that’s fodder for a blog entry all on its own, so you can probably imagine the wheels burning in my brain, I’m sure!

I’m not going to get into why many pastors don’t preach strong sermons. I’m just going to say, when you’re standing in the pulpit, you can feel when you’re getting too harsh. When you’re too strong. When I’m typing, all I feel is usually caffeine, or that my cat is digging his claws in my leg. So I can blast on, blissfully unaware of hurt feelings.

Your pastor also has to consider the new Christians in the congregation. They’re easily hurt, not at all used to a Pastor taking a congregation to the woodshed. And in a church where a Pastor talks like I write, sooner or later, he’s going to preach on something a baby Christian is still doing. And then feelings get hurt.

so pastors tone it down a little. (where am I going with this? I don’t know!).

Over the next year, where do you really want me to address? Please go back four days or so (just scroll down) and vote in the poll. Let me know what you really want me to write about. I mean, I’ll try, but there’s just something in me that when I see someone caught in a cult or false religion, the urge to save them becomes too great, and I’ll probably write about that again.

But eventually, I’ll have addressed every cult and false religion I legally can address (I’ve already mentioned that the Attorney General of the United States has promised that if you criticize one religion, it will be investigated by Federal Agencies – why I don’t know, as the Constitution of the United States specifically grants me the ability to do so, and there’s no law against it. But I suppose it’s because that’s the religion of the President, despite his claims to be a Christian – bottom line, I won’t be discussing *****).

please vote. Thanks. I’m off to get more coffee.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???