Mormonism Answered 1


Mormonism is one of those groups most Christians know very little about. In the 1950’s, Christians were quick to separate from Mormons, or the Church of Latter Day Saints of Jesus Christ. Today, thanks to lots of pressure and political expediency, Christians are just as quick to embrace them, referring to them as fellow Christians.
Mormons claim to be Christians. If that is the case, they must believe several cardinal doctrines to be able to claim to be Christians:

  • Belief in the Bible as inerrant, and inspired word for word, letter for letter by God
  • Belief in one God revealed in three persons, the Triune Godhead, God the Father, God the Son (the Lord Jesus Christ) and God the Holy Spirit
  • Belief that there is no other way to salvation except through the atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ and His death, burial, and Ressurection
  • Belief that there is Salvation in no other name other than Jesus Christ (with an acknowledgement of the pronunciation of that name in other languages such as Iesus, Yeshua, etc.)
  • belief in a literal heaven and a literal hell
  • belief that rejection of the Gospel leads to an eternity of suffering in a literal Hell and eventually in the lake of fire
  • belief in Salvation by Grace alone as a gift of God and not of works, lest any man should boast
  • Belief in the eventual literal return of Jesus Christ for his saints at the Rapture, and eventually a physical, visible return of Jesus Christ

If anyone does not believe in these things, they can call themselves a Christian, but they’d be misled or lying. AS you can see, at least one or two of these cardinal doctrines actually rules out a famous Soutrhern Baptist Missionary, but we’re not getting to that here today. I sincerely hope I meet that man before I die so I can witness to him, because I have grave doubts he’s saved!
So, let’s examine Mormonism, and see whether they can call themselves Christians, and make the claim to be saved. THe first thing we’re going to do is… put aside all rumors and myths about what Mormonism is. I’m going to state from the beginning I would like a knowledgable Mormon to help out, someone who’s had extensive training in Mormon teaching. Let’s set the record straight!
But be prepared… I’m doing this not to bash Mormons, but rather we are examining claims of salvation. If doctrinally what the Mormon church teaches does not line up with the Bible, we must reject it. I’m doing this to see whether Mormons need to be SAVED. If this examination leads to any other doctrinal positions other than the one above, then I’m going to beg, implore, plead, cajole, ANYTHING to get Mormons out of that church, and get you SAVED! Because the future state of any who reject this is frightening in the extreme.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

12 thoughts on “Mormonism Answered 1”

    1. THanks! I appreciate the link. I’ll try to check their writings out so I can get more info.

      Like

  1. Just note that many Christians throughout history have rejected various doctrines that you list. What you say regarding the rapture, for example, was not a common belief until about four hundred years ago, and is still rejected by many Christian denominations, including the Catholics.

    Me, I prefer to define Christian in its historical meaning: of, pertaining to, or derived from Jesus Christ or His teachings. Thus any religion that is derived from Jesus or his teachings, whether it be true or not, is a Christian religion.

    What you seem to be arguing is not that Mormons aren’t Christian, but that they do not have the gospel of Jesus Christ.

    Like

    1. Agreed, but then again, if you’ve read my pages, I have successfully presented Roman Catholicism as being anti-christianity. It is the complete opposite of what the Bible teaches. I am arguing BOTH things – that Mormons are not Christians, and they do not have the gospel of Jesus Christ. You can’t be the one without the other.

      Like

      1. I would disagree. The term Christian is used to refer to anything that traces its origin back to Christ or His teachings. It is as simple as that. To make the term synonymous with the term gospel is to make one of the two useless.

        My point is that there is no need to use any other meaning of the term Christian as your point is made just fine either way.

        Like

      2. Then I have to say you are wrong. To be Christian is to be born again, to possess the Gospel. If you are nto born again, you are not of Christ, and thus not Christian.

        Like

      3. I am just pointing out that that is not the definition of the term Christian. I would say that you are attempting to redefine the word and that your argument would be more persuasive if you didn’t.

        Like

      4. No, that’s the Biblical definition of a Christian. To get back to your earlier point, there were many groups that called themselves Christian – but if they did not accept the first principle of “ye must be born again” then they were not Christian. Any group rejecting the Trinity is again, not Christian. You can call yourself a Buick Lesabre, but if you’re not, you’re not!
        I see your point – but I’m not backing down from this. If you are not born again, if you do not posess the Gospel, you are not a Christian. Many great preachers have described the difference as being that of a “professor versus a possessor.” One who professes Christ without possessing Christ is in for a rude shock 30 seconds after death – that’s not the time to find out you’re wrong!
        I am not bashing other religions, or denominations that lead their adherents to destruction – I am trying to awaken you to the truth, that you may believe upon the LORD Jesus Christ, and be saved. The LORD Jesus Christ, and not the “another Jesus – half brother of Satan” as preached by Joseph Smith and Brigham Young.

        Like

      5. My point is that you are going to get more people to listen to you if you use the term as it is given in the dictionary and is generally accepted.
        I have no doubt about your intention, but your methods are going to make people believe otherwise.

        It is far better to say “I know you believe in Christ, and let me tell you the truth about him” than to say “You don’t believe in Christ and let me tell you why.”

        Like

      6. 22 To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. 1 Corinthians 9:22 (KJV)

        It may well be better, but my belief is this – I may have one chance to meet you. If I tell you that you believe in Christ when you don’t, you may dismiss everything I say and end in Hell for all eternity.
        My choice is to put the fear of God in people. I’m not trying to bash Mormons, I’m trying to show them they have been lied to. I believe Joseph Smith was a con man who half believed what he said, and I believe (and hope to portray Brigham Young this way) that Young, Kimball and the rest of the Mormon leaders are sincere – but sincerely wrong.
        If a Mormon halfway pays attention to what I say and thinks I’m congratulating him for Christian faith, he’s wrong and I failed to reach him. I can’t take that chance. Mormons are not Christians. Catholics are not Christians. I can’t pull punches and risk them thinking they’re saved when they’re not.

        Like

      7. But you are making a bigger risk in what you are doing now. You say you are not bashing Mormons, and yet your entire approach is an outright attack on what they believe.
        It would be like an person blowing up your house and telling you that it isn’t personal, it is just that they thought it wasn’t a real house.
        Wouldn’t it be better to show them a better house and invite them use?
        You do it however you want. I am not going to try and stop you.

        Like

Comments are closed.