Don’t team up with the unsaved – save them!


continuing on with our getting right with God/Repentance/Revival series…

9 I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture. 10 The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. 11 I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. 12 But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep. 13 The hireling fleeth, because he is an hireling, and careth not for the sheep. John 10:9-13 (KJV)

I suppose I’m relieved I haven’t received the storm of protests I expected when I  explained the difference between an Evangelical and a Fundamentalist.

The most amazing thing is that an Evangelical clicked “like” on the very next post!

Anyway…

Let’s talk about reality. I’ve talked about saved. I’ve discussed what it is and isnt. Let me briefly recap a couple of points, and we’ll move on from there.

And let me explain, I really don’t care what your denomination teaches is how your saved. I am responsible to teach the Bible. I am charged by God the following:

1 I charge thee therefore before God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, who shall judge the quick and the dead at his appearing and his kingdom; 2 Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine. 2 Timothy 4:1-2 (KJV)

Once I accepted that “Woe is me if I preach not the Gospel!” something happened inside me – the charge laid out in 2 Tim. 4:1-2 became personal. It ceased to be just words on the page.

But let’s pay attention to the next two verses, because although they’ve been true since the days they were written… they have become a picture of common men everywhere.

3 For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; 4 And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables. 2 Timothy 4:3-4 (KJV)

That’s as of a few years ago, in case you weren’t paying attention. Men no longer endure sound doctrine. Think about that word: endure. To put up with, to allow to continue, to not resist.

That means Christians – believing, blood washed, saved Christians… will not put up with sound doctrine today! They will not allow it to be any longer! Indeed, they resist it!

Which is why I got a blog. I can’t be silent any more. I won’t be silent any more! God has charged me to preach the Gospel and sound doctrine, to be diligent and ready at any moment, to reprove, rebuke and exhort.

So… who isn’t saved?

  • If you believe you’re predestined to salvation and don’t need to be born again – you’re not saved.
  • If you’re trusting in small droplets of water sprinkled on your forehead, rubbed on your nose or belly button or what have you to save you… you’re not saved.
  • If you’re resting on the fact that your great grandfather is saved, your grandfather is saved, and your father is saved… guess what? that doesn’t matter. NOBODY was “always a Christian”!
  • If you’re depending on your baptism to save you… you’re not saved.
  • If you’re depending on a confirmation, a catechism, belonging to X church to make you saved… you’re not saved.
  • If you’re depending on circumcision to save you, you’re not saved.
  • If’ you believe you have to combine any kind of good works plus Jesus… you’re not saved.

The ONLY THING that saves you is repentance, and putting your FAITH in Jesus Christ to save you. That’s it! If God asked you “Why should I let you into heaven?” and you responded, “You shouldn’t! But I believe Jesus Christ shed His blood to save me…” Ta-da! You’re IN. It’s the JESUS CHRIST part that saves you!

So… why then are SAVED men partnering with people who believe any of the above? “well, they name the name of Christ…”

Yeah, sure… a different christ. Another Jesus, as the Bible puts it. The Bible says that there are three kinds of Pastors…

  1. Shepherds
  2. hirelings
  3. wolves

Hirelings abandon the flock at the first sign of the wolf. The Wolf removes his sheep skin and begins feasting on the flock. The Shepherd steps in the gap and faces the wolf, the lion and the bear.

33 And Saul said to David, Thou art not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him: for thou art but a youth, and he a man of war from his youth. 34 And David said unto Saul, Thy servant kept his father’s sheep, and there came a lion, and a bear, and took a lamb out of the flock: 35 And I went out after him, and smote him, and delivered it out of his mouth: and when he arose against me, I caught him by his beard, and smote him, and slew him. 36 Thy servant slew both the lion and the bear: and this uncircumcised Philistine shall be as one of them, seeing he hath defied the armies of the living God. 37 David said moreover, The LORD that delivered me out of the paw of the lion, and out of the paw of the bear, he will deliver me out of the hand of this Philistine. And Saul said unto David, Go, and the LORD be with thee. 1 Samuel 17:33-37 (KJV)

So I ask again… why do we partner with the unsaved “for the sake of the Gospel”? I don’t understand that!

Let’s say that I was given the opportunity to preach the Gospel to thousands at a Revival (God help us all! I’d probably scare all but a dozen away!). And let’s say ten Roman Catholics came forward, hearts wrung and ready to receive Christ.

Should I turn them over to a Roman Catholic Priest at that point? According to the official position of the Roman Catholic Church, “If any man denies salvation by works… let him be anathema. If any main claims Salvation is by Faith alone, let him be Anathema.”

I’m sorry, I’m not turning ANYONE over to any man ordained in that system! But if those priests happen to be there and want to know what they must do to be saved, i’ll be glad to talk with them too!

So… why do we partner with these men “for the sake of the Gospel”? They don’t even know what the Gospel is!!!!

Should I turn them over to Mormons? They seek a sign as proof they’re saved! There’s no salvation by faith in Jesus Christ, it’s a “Burning in the bosom” and “you must join the Mormon church and accept Joseph Smith as a prophet.

Shall I turn them over to any denomination that teaches salvation by baby sprinkling? No, but again, I’ll be glad to share the Gospel with those “Clergymen” as well.

Same for all the other denominations or movements that teach all of the other false doctrines I listed above!

So… someone tell me again why we partner with baby sprinklers, salvation by baptizers, salvation by works believers and salvation by true church-ism believers? We should be witnessing to them, not partnering with them!

God forgive us – what is wrong with us??? We so urgently need to fall on our faces in repentance before God for our foolishness, and our wholesale abandonment of the Great Commission!

God, forgive me please.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???