Be Ye Not Conformed to This World…


In this time, these last days, we need to keep certain things in mind.

I recently was at a conference where I heard an obviously Calvinistic pastor dwelling on 300 year old sermons he’d read, and statistics on what makes a revival, what they were praying, what they were acing, etc.

I couldn’t help but think he’d completely missed the mark.

I don’t want to sound like Ian Paisley, but here’s the truth – most people don’t want revival. You SAY you want revival, but if I laid it out what it takes, then you’d be reluctant to push for it.

What does it take for a revival?

Just certain things. It’s easy. If your church is willing, then I can get a revival going there at once. You all just read the required steps almost three weeks ago, when I covered Revelation chapter 3. But I’m telling you, things will change, and most people are not willing to pay that price in their flesh.

what’s our condition?

14 And unto the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write; These things saith the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God; 15 I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot. 16 So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth. Revelation 3:14-16 (KJV)

What does it take to get a revival going?

17 Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked: 18 I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see. 19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent. 20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me. 21 To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne. 22 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches. Revelation 3:17-22 (KJV)

There you go. I’ll break it down. This isn’t a sermon, there’s no “three points and a poem”. This is how it is.

First, the Lord gives us two commands…

  1. be zealous therefore…
  2. and repent.

Wow. Make sure you take notes on that – it’s complicated and I don’t want to lose anyone.

2 Be watchful, and strengthen the things which remain, that are ready to die: for I have not found thy works perfect before God. 3 Remember therefore how thou hast received and heard, and hold fast, and repent. If therefore thou shalt not watch, I will come on thee as a thief, and thou shalt not know what hour I will come upon thee. Revelation 3:2-3 (KJV)

A study of the seven churches of Revelation is crucial to surviving these times. I know, everyone wanted to get to the millions of horsemen, and the earthquakes and oceans of blood, and all the cinematic stuff. But we too often skip past the first three chapters of Revelation, and miss out on what the Lord says, and I’m telling you, just a few verses tell you how to get a revival going, one that will turn the world upside down.

And I’m telling you, you don’t want a revival. It’s uncomfortable. Your life will change. You won’t be able to easily go back to your old life.

Here’s what everyone gets right about the state of the churches. It’s our own fault. We left something. What?

  1. our first love…
  2. the Bible…
  3. and the Gospel

Why is Ray Comformt making such a splash? Because he’s daring to invoke the word of God as if it has authority, claims on your life. Let’s deal with number two for a minute.

Here’s a bottom line statement – this one is crucial. Your church cannot have a revival without it.

The Bible is the inspired, inerrant, preserved word of God. If you cannot accept that, then not only can you not have revival, I question your salvation.

We start with the Bible. You need to understand the BIBLE IS GOD’S WORD. We are more inclined to read books about the Bible than to understand the Bible!

That’s the first step. If you have written a sermon for your congregation, and read something in the Bible that made you uncomfortable and decided, “Well, let me see how another translation puts it…” warning sign number one. You or your congregation is in rebellion against God.

How big’s your God? Do you worship a god or do you worship the Lord, maker of heaven and Earth? If Jesus Christ came to you, torn palms, white robe and all, and said… “listen, I really don’t like you watching that TV program. It’s lustful and full of greed, adultery, fornication, envy, and strife. I told you to avoid such things for your own good!”

Would you answer the Lord and say to Him, “Yeah, but I really like the show!” Or would you answer, “I’m sorry Lord… you’re right.”

Answer number one would be rebellion. Answer number two would be closer to the truth. Go read the Bible (hey, remember that thing???) and tell me if I’m right or not.

I know, you’re saying, “Why, you’re just a Fundamentalist!”

You’re right, I am. Why? Because the Bible tells me to be. The question is, why aren’t you???

4 Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love. 5 Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will remove thy candlestick out of his place, except thou repent. Revelation 2:4-5 (KJV)

To do the first works, we must get back to the Gospel.

Let me lay this out, because very often the smartest person in the church is the one that got saved last week! To them, “getting back to the Gospel” would mean getting to exactly how THEY are. Understanding what the price was paid for us, grateful for the removal of our sins, eager to obey God and learn, eager to read the Bible, pausing often to thank God, praying…

When you’re first born again, you want to know…”What does the Lord want me to do?” That’s the right attitude. I guarantee that this is the attitude that (if you don’t lose it from worldliness, sin and rebellion) leads you to being a Fundamentalist.

So I’m not a sinner, worldly, and rebellious? Of course I am. THe New Testament makes it abundantly clear that we are in a fight, a struggle, a WAR with our old nature for as long as we’re in this world. There’s no way to avoid it. Fundamentalists battle it as hard as you, if not harder – because the flesh resists that which is spiritual. The more you attempt to feed your spirit, the more your flesh will rebel against you. And I’m sure Satan sends every devil he has at his disposal to afflict the Fundamentalists first. Why? Well, who do you need more devils for, the worldly, ecumenical Christian who has degenerqated into Universalism? Or the “Narrow is the way, king James Only” Fundamentalist?

When the army calls for reinforcements, is it against the enemy that’s surrendering? or is it only against the enemy that’s putting up a huge fight? I’ll leave it to you to answer that question. Here’s my question for you… are you surrendering? or Fighting? When you’re not backslidden (which in a real, saved Christian rarelyhappens… only about 95 times a day…), are you holding true to God’s Bible? Or are you accepting every Bible, no matter how heretical? Are you holding strongly to “you must be born again…” or are you just accepting EVERYONE that names the name of Christ? Can you quote John 14:6 (or at least sum it up) and do you believe it? or are you one of those so-called Christians who advocate silly things like, “I think EVERYONE that loves God will go to heaven”?

Friends, that’s NOT what the Bible says! If you say or believe that, I’m going to tell you that you’re in one of three categories…

  1. worldly
  2. in rebellion against God
  3. or not saved

14 But I have a few things against thee, because thou hast there them that hold the doctrine of Balaam, who taught Balac to cast a stumblingblock before the children of Israel, to eat things sacrificed unto idols, and to commit fornication. 15 So hast thou also them that hold the doctrine of the Nicolaitans, which thing I hate. 16 Repent; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will fight against them with the sword of my mouth. Revelation 2:14-16 (KJV)

Is there idolatryr in your life? That’s not a “yes or no” question, that’s just a “yes” question. We all have things we bow down to instead of our God. If you present one side of you on social media, and another before your God… Idolatry. If you put other things first, like TV, music, guitars, cars, football, baseball, soccer, chess, stamp collecting, little Hummel figurines, Precious Moments… Okay, I know I’m getting silly. But what keeps you from worshipping your God?

For most people (here it is) it’s television. Sitcoms, the news, the liberal media agenda, Stormchasers (is that still on the air???), Ghostbusters (THERE’S a Godly TV show! Let’s get saved, then sit around watching Necromancy! Why, the Bible says NOTHING against Necromancy!!), SNL, Mad TV… If it’s keeping you from serving the Lord, there’s an issue. If it keeps you from living a Godly lifestyle, get rid of it. How many people at the end of their lives, in a hospital bed, tell people, “I’m so glad I watched all that TV!”

If it influences you to be more worldly, get rid of it. If it keeps you from reading your Bible, or causes you to doubt your Bible, get rid of it.

“well, I watch a lot of shows on Discovery and the History Channel on Bible stuff…”

I wouldn’t. Hoiw many times have you said, “It was good! They questioned a couple of things and they had one or two things wrong… but it was good!”

I’m going to say, that’s just the stuff you noticed. I catch a lot more questioning or errors faster than other people – I guess I just pay atttention. But here’s the question – if they question the Bible even once, why didn’t you turn it off? If they got something completely wrong, why did you watch anything further? WE’re getting to April time, and I’m telling you, this is when they REALLY start kicking in the Bible stuff. It’s because we’re nearing Easter, and they ALWAYS have to question or deny the Ressurection of Jesus Christ. They may not attack the Ressurection, but they’re going to try to cast the Lord in a negative light. Or they’re going to question His Deity. And i’m telling you, watcihng those shows weakens you. Far better to watch videos by Kent Hovind or Ken Ham.

Why aren’t Fundamentalists making videos, documentaries and movies on the Bible, things that portray accurately, things that show the Glory of God?

“Well, I’ve got The Passion movie…” Uh-huh. I’ve got it too, someone gave it to me. Didn’t the Roman Catholic stuff make you question it? Didn’t the patently unBiblical stuff give you pause? It bothered me. I’ll admit, any movie that attempts to portray Jesus Christ as God I’m going to watch, because like you I love the Lord Jesus Christ and I’m grateful to Him for saving me. But guard your affections! I noticed a lot more Christians began accepting Roman Catholics as fellow Christians after “The Passion” movie.

In case you haven’t read my writings on the Roman Catholic Church, I’m going to tell you that the reference to Nicolaitanism is a direct reference to the Roman Catholic church. So is the Harlot riding the beast in Revelation. And it’s not Christianity. Grab a Roman Catholic and ask their testimony. Ask when they were born again. Ask for details. You’re going to be very surprised.

20 Notwithstanding I have a few things against thee, because thou sufferest that woman Jezebel, which calleth herself a prophetess, to teach and to seduce my servants to commit fornication, and to eat things sacrificed unto idols. 21 And I gave her space to repent of her fornication; and she repented not. 22 Behold, I will cast her into a bed, and them that commit adultery with her into great tribulation, except they repent of their deeds. 23 And I will kill her children with death; and all the churches shall know that I am he which searcheth the reins and hearts: and I will give unto every one of you according to your works. Revelation 2:20-23 (KJV)

How do you get Revival? I know, I took a long time to answer that. Here it is. REady? I even put it in bullets to make it easy to follow.

  • a commitment to read your Bible a LOT.
  • a church program of reading the Bible through in 90 days. The last part of this should be the revival.
  • a fast from social media. How long is up to your church. I recommend at least a week, two is better, a month would be amazing.
  • A fast from TV, total abstinance from it for a month.
  • A committment to do EXACTLY as the Bible tells you to live for 30 days. Try it. Be a Fundamentalist for 30 days. This part is one of the most critical. Skip this part, and your revival gets exactly where all the others got you – nowhere.
  • Pray. Every chance you get.
  • a church repentence service must be the start of this, praying and repenting to the Lord for how far we drift from him on an hourly basis.
  • maybe a literal day of fasting and praying. Don’t play the “can I drink milkshakes?” game – if it’s a fast, make it a fast. Just water for 24 hours. If you wanna do it really biblically, no water either. See the book of Jonah for the king of Nineveh’s command to the Assyrian peoples on fasting. But I understand that’s really tough for Gentiles. It’s tough for Jews too, but hey, a lot of us have done Yom Kippur at least a few times, so we know what to expect.
  • Resolve that you are going to follow the Lord your God no matter what…

There you are. If you resolved as a church to do this for 90 days, plan out the revival for the last week. Or two. I’d recommend a 30 day revival, but that’s probably too much. If any Pastors read this blog, you start the call for this in your church. You might try convincing like minded churches to follow, but that’s between you and them.

7 Only be thou strong and very courageous, that thou mayest observe to do according to all the law, which Moses my servant commanded thee: turn not from it to the right hand or to the left, that thou mayest prosper whithersoever thou goest. 8 This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success. Joshua 1:7-8 (KJV)

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

1 thought on “Be Ye Not Conformed to This World…”

  1. Wow, I love your statement “The Bible is the inspired, inerrant, preserved word of God. If you cannot accept that, then not only can you not have revival, I question your salvation.” Totally hit the spot. 🙂 Even God puts His Word above His own name! Psalm 138:2 “…for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name.”

    Like

Comments are closed.