What’s Wrong With Baptists???


There’s times I just absolutly want to shake people.

Hi, fellow Baptists, it’s like this:

You’re surrounded.

You know, when Genghis Khan and his troops circled a village, they would draw that circle tighter until they had everyone hemmed in. And then the killing started.

I can only describe what’s happening as a war on all fronts.

Secular Humanism is part of a deliberate campaign to outlaw Christianity in the US. they are trying to take away one constitutionally guaranteed freedom at a time. What’s been our response?

We bought chicken sandwiches.

Where’s the letter to the editor? Where’s the emails to TV network executives, asking for accountability in their onslaught and clever campaigns against Christianity? Where’s the letters to your delegate, representative, congressman or senator? Form letter mail to a certain extent doesn’t work. You get a big pile of letters all with different signatures. politicians feel a little pressure.

But if they get the same number of upset letters from constituents decrying our loss of freedoms, all worded differently, the pressure ramps up suddenly. “People are upset! If I want to keep my job, I better do something!”

I had a politician come to my door, asking what my concerns were. I told him my constitutional rights. He then asked which ones? I asked why I was having to pick and choose which ones I was going to get to keep?

I didn’t vote for him. That question revealed a willingness to turn his back upon the US constitution, the one he’s supposed to serve and protect.

That’s the media and the politicians – Next foe.

There’s a move to subvert Baptist conventions. By whom? Everyone, it seems. I guess my oft-voiced objection is too radical. I call it the blog argument. If you don’t like what I say on my blog, don’t read it. Go get your own and write what you want. Or find one that does say what you like. There’s MILLIONS of them.

Okay, so you’re offended that Baptists believe the Bible. Oh well. Go get your own convention. Don’t try to subvert mine.

Okay, so you’re emergent, and you want to believe that errant nonsense. Fine. Get your own convention. Don’t try to sneak in and subvert mine. Begone. Take a tract with you, because you’re not saved, and it’s not going to go well with you at Judgment Day.

Okay, so you’re theologically liberal, and don’t believe the Bible literally. You want to teach some kind of nonsense about figurative speech, etc. Great. Go start your own convention. Call it ALBA (Americal Lost Baptists Association), or whatever you want. Don’t you try to subvert my convention.

So you’re in love with Willow Creek. Fine. I’m sure Bill Hybels would be flattered if you asked him to start a convention. Go do that. Don’t try to hijack my church, and introduce dramas. My church is about worshipping God, getting souls saved, and preaching the word of God. Nobody’s dressing like Humpty Dumpty. No Harlem Shake at my church, please.

So you’re a Calvinist. Great. Go get your own convention. Mine believes the Bible.

We’ve got foes inside the convention and outside the convention.

Sometimes I think all those Zombie movies are about Baptists. We just sleepwalk our way through life.

Wanna know why there’s no revival in our churches? Reread the article. We allowed this to happen. Every time in the Bible that the congregation of Israel stopped and asked, “Why are we allowing worship at the High places, and BA’al in our midst?” and purged all of that, revival broke out.

Solution? Teaching correct, biblical doctrine. Toss out all those Sunday School materials you haven’t read – because I’m telling you, I read some stuff in the “Navigating the Bible” series that concerned me deeply.

When the Southern Baptist Convention issued its statement on salvation, the angry outbursts from the Calvinists should have prompted a response of, “Sorry, that’s the clear and obvious teachings of the Bible. You’re more than welcome to start your own convention where you can advocate your Roman Catholic-lite theology.”

The issue was, We stated the clear position of the Bible: Whosoever will. Anyone protesting that angrily is angrily protesting the Bible. And one of the seminary presidents is an outspoken Calvinist, and many seem to regard him as the voice of the Southern Baptists! Well, no – he’s the voice of the New Calvinists.

If you’re emergent, theologically liberal, deny or question the Bible, sovereign grace or what have you, that’s not Baptist. nobody’s forcing you to stay.

However, once you start agendas of trying to subvert the convention, it’s time for you to move on.

Baptists, wake up.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

12 thoughts on “What’s Wrong With Baptists???”

  1. Why not leave the convention that has allowed leadership that has allowed compromise and apostasy? Why continue with those who have proven to be unfaithful? God bless you:)

    Like

    1. Because there remains an awful lot of Bible believing people being led astray right now. I have to do what I can for them while I can.

      Like

  2. All I’m going to say right now is that God has placed me in a Southern Baptist church at this time. Every time I have tried going elsewhere, the doors shut quickly. Until the Lord sends me out… I’m not going. While I’m there, I’m going to defend the congregation that God has placed in my hands. And by preaching against these errors, I am doing just that.

    Like

  3. To my surprise, this remains one of the 5 most popular posts I’ve made, with people still reading it every week!

    Like

Comments are closed.