Correct Doctrine 10


3.3. God is not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance (2 Peter 3:9, Gal. 3:26, John 6:29)

3.4. God The Father is distinct and separate from both the Son of God (Jesus Christ) and the Holy Ghost. (Mat. 3:16, 17:5, Mark 1:10-11)

I can’t think of any better way to explain 3.3, other than to just list the verses.

9 The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance. 2 Peter 3:9 (KJV)

26 For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus. Galatians 3:26 (KJV)

29 Jesus answered and said unto them, This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent. John 6:29 (KJV)

As I’ve mentioned before, it is 3.4 where some mess up! Oneness Pentecostalism has the most problems with this. All other descriptions of the Trinity they usually don’t have a problem with, until you get to this one. “No, they are all the same!” they insist. And many Christians even fall into their most blatant example.

“I’m a son to my father, a husband to my wife, and a father to my children. That’s a trinity.”

No, that’s called Modalism. It can be further split and defined into some areas such as Patripassionism, claiming that God the Father actually suffered on the Cross.

God the Father is God. The Lord Jesus Christ is the Son. The Holy Spirit is the Holy Spirit. As I’ve attempted to explain before (badly), The Lord Jesus voluntarily places Himself under God the Father. The Holy Sprit witnesses of the Lord Jesus Christ, preferring to never bring attention to Himself. And God the Father has Exalted the Lord Jesus Christ above all others. They are all separate, but the same. They are all God. There is only one God, God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Spirit.

“Well, I don’t understand that!!!”

Nu… and you can comprehend and understand God??? If you can understand God, then it’s not the God of the Bible.

To paraphrase David Cloud, at some point we have to bow the knee and admit that we as finite humans cannot understand the complexities of God. God is astounding. He is everywhere at once, all powerful, all knowing.

“Well, I don’t agree.”

It doesn’t matter what you think. This is what the Bible says. You must accept it to be saved. Literally, to deny this is to deny Christ.

16 And Jesus, when he was baptized, went up straightway out of the water: and, lo, the heavens were opened unto him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove, and lighting upon him: Matthew 3:16 (KJV)

5 While he yet spake, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them: and behold a voice out of the cloud, which said, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased; hear ye him. Matthew 17:5 (KJV)

10 And straightway coming up out of the water, he saw the heavens opened, and the Spirit like a dove descending upon him: 11 And there came a voice from heaven, saying, Thou art my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased. Mark 1:10-11 (KJV)

I chose these three verses to show specific times where the Bible refutes Oneness Pentecostalism. You see in Matthew 3:16 and Mark 1:10 God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit all on the earth at the same time.

Then Matthew 17:5 shows the Lord Jesus speaking from earth, and God the Father answering from Heaven.

Again, our job is not to examine the Bible to see if it confirms our beliefs, but rather, we must read the Bible and accept what it teaches.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???

2 thoughts on “Correct Doctrine 10”

  1. You also seem to be stuck in the Trinitarian doctrine of so many Christian denominations, because you write “They are all separate, but the same”. giving the impression that you consider Jesus to be the same person as Jehovah God and to consider the Power of God, His Speaking and Thinking to be a person as well.

    No where in the Holy Scriptures shall you find the word Trinity nor shall you find that Jesus is God the son. He is the “Son of God” = a big difference.

    Like

    1. The Lord Jesus Christ is clearly referred to in the Bible as God. Did you read the Scriptures I listed? I provide the Scriptures to the Doctrine lessons so that you can investigate for yourself.6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. John 14:6 (KJV) 6 I’d put the Greek up, but the comment response box sadly does not accept the Koine Greek. John 14:6 clearly uses Eigo Eime, Which translated means “I I Am”. It’s also in Mark 14:62, a direct response to the High Priest’s questioning. Notice in Mark 14:63 the High Priest tore his clothes, a very expensive procedure, which could be done only if blasphemy was done in the very presence of the High Priest.
      63 Then the high priest rent his clothes, and saith, What need we any further witnesses? 64 Ye have heard the blasphemy: what think ye? And they all condemned him to be guilty of death. Mark 14:63-64 (KJV)

      7 Behold, he cometh with clouds; and every eye shall see him, and they also which pierced him: and all kindreds of the earth shall wail because of him. Even so, Amen. 8 I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty. Revelation 1:7-8 (KJV)
      6 And he said unto me, It is done. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give unto him that is athirst of the fountain of the water of life freely. 7 He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son. Revelation 21:6-7 (KJV)
      Notice “I will be his God”… you’d say this is God the Father, correct?
      13 I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last. 14 Blessed are they that do his commandments, that they may have right to the tree of life, and may enter in through the gates into the city. 15 For without are dogs, and sorcerers, and whoremongers, and murderers, and idolaters, and whosoever loveth and maketh a lie. 16 I Jesus have sent mine angel to testify unto you these things in the churches. I am the root and the offspring of David, and the bright and morning star. Revelation 22:13-16 (KJV)
      Jesus uses the same words about Himself.
      21 Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come. 22 Then said the Jews, Will he kill himself? because he saith, Whither I go, ye cannot come. 23 And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world. 24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins. 25 Then said they unto him, Who art thou? And Jesus saith unto them, Even the same that I said unto you from the beginning. John 8:21-25 (KJV)
      Jesus is God.

      If you do not accept that, you will die in your sins.

      These are not the only verses I can list. I’ve got several witnesses in these verses, as well as many others.

      As for the Holy Spirit being God,
      1 But a certain man named Ananias, with Sapphira his wife, sold a possession, 2 And kept back part of the price, his wife also being privy to it, and brought a certain part, and laid it at the apostles’ feet. 3 But Peter said, Ananias, why hath Satan filled thine heart to lie to the Holy Ghost, and to keep back part of the price of the land? 4 Whiles it remained, was it not thine own? and after it was sold, was it not in thine own power? why hast thou conceived this thing in thine heart? thou hast not lied unto men, but unto God. Acts 5:1-4 (KJV)

      God the Father is God. the Lord Jesus Christ is God. The Holy Spirit is God. THAT’S a big difference. I’ll pray for you that the LORD awaken you to this. Please keep reading and studying this issue – it’s the most important issue you’ll ever face.
      Notice that the Holy Spirit is referred to as God.

      Like

Comments are closed.