Reproof


There is commonly this idea today that if you speak against anything you’re unloving. And that loving people really just kind of keep it all quiet and, and the idea that if you really show love you, you just don’t really make any issues.” John Macarthur “Is the church still in transition?” Tape/Mp3 #1369 04:00 in

MacArthur’s right. Just because I agree with him on this issue doesn’t mean that I’m suddenly a Calvinist – far from it. I still firmly hold to Bible (Baptist – same thing) doctrine, which (Albert Moehler and Paul Washer aside) is not compatible with Calvinism.

For some reason, Christians today often wince when they hear a Pastor get in a pulpit and speak against anything. It’s as if someone has programmed Christians to say, “You can speak out against sin, but that’s all. and…don’t speak out against specific sins, just sins in general.” It’s usually followed by an indignant, “I don’t believe that Christianity should cost you anything, or make you change your lifestyle.”

These, by the way, are the first Christians to start turning pages in the Bible when the Pastor straighfaced asks the church to turn to 2nd Hezekiah. I’m not picking on them, because I fell for that once myself. Well, maybe twice. But it told me I wasn’t in my Bible enough at the time.

I’ve taken the high road many times, letting a Christian comment wildly upon his chosen doctrine, and often I have not said a word. My mission, I felt, was often best suited to let them believe their way, and I will preach the truth when I have a congregation to feed and build up. I’m still taking that road, but I’m starting to question how Jesus Christ would respond to their fanciful beliefs.

Paul certainly took my response. Why, when the Galatia church was suborned by the circumcision party, Paul smiled and said nothing, right? No. He wrote them a lengthy epistle, correcting the errors. Many were hurt and upset. some no doubt left, cursing Paul’s name.

How many Christians recognize the name “Alexander the Coppersmith?” Was he good or bad? Did Paul ever mention his name in epistles? Or did Paul ignore him? Paul openly mentioned his name, so that Christians could avoid him. We are to mark and avoid –  Rom. 16:17

Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them. Romans 16:17 (KJV) 

Open rebuke is better than secret love. 6 Faithful are the wounds of a friend; but the kisses of an enemy are deceitful. Prov 27:5-6 (KJV)

The Bible tells us to rebuke, to speak against things. So I preach against Charismaticism, Catholicism, Baptist Briderism, infant baptism, entire sanctification, and many other doctrinal errors.

The Bible tells me to preach against these things, as I’ve explained before. We’re to continue in the Apostles Doctrine. No deviation, no “I prefer this…”, no “I think it’s better to…”

God says, we do.

So when the Bible tells us to reprove specific sins… we need to.

When the Bible tells us to mark those who cause divisions, or are heretics… we must. That’s all there is to it.

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???